Playmaker Forum

Playmaker Updates & Downloads => Pre-release Discussion => Topic started by: Menno007 on April 19, 2016, 05:15:27 AM

Title: input fields loose focus
Post by: Menno007 on April 19, 2016, 05:15:27 AM
Hi

I am using Playmaker 1.8 on OSX and Unity3D 5.3
When creating events or variables (or some other action) and I want to type
something the input field looses focus. If this happens I can only type 1 letter at the time.
This *bug doesn't always happen.
Is this something known? Or perhaps it is some setting at my end?

Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: mdotstrange on April 19, 2016, 05:21:34 AM
This has happened to me as well with PM 1.8 and Unity 5.3- I thought it was an issue with my PC- it usually happens when I'm naming an FSM or a state- and it loses focus after one character and I have to re-click the field to continue typing-
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: Menno007 on April 19, 2016, 05:32:14 AM
Yeah, it is really annoying because when I start typing and not paying attention I press all kind of shortcuts in Unity.. Then I have no idea why something is hidden or disabled for example :-(
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: westingtyler on May 15, 2016, 01:56:55 AM
I have experienced this problem too, with Unity 5.3.4p1 and Playmaker 1.7.8.3. I load up a scene, go into an FSM, click a state name box to rename that state, it types the first letter, then defocuses that box so then I am pressing a bunch of shortcut keys in Unity. Obnoxious and rather new.
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: PET on May 26, 2016, 02:28:51 AM
Just came to post this! First time I'm encountering this. I just created a new state, I'm trying to rename the state but every time I'm pressing a new button the state get's deselected.

Playmaker 1.8 Beta & Unity 5.3.5.
If I remember correctly, didn't had this problem on 5.3.4.
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jeanfabre on May 26, 2016, 06:41:17 AM
Hi,

 We can repro this as well, thanks for reporting!

Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: Alex Chouls on May 26, 2016, 06:49:00 AM
Well Jean can repro - I haven't been able to repro yet!  :'(
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: ukalex on August 11, 2016, 08:51:33 AM
Hello - is there a fix for this? I get this issue whenever I go back to rename a state. The selected state becomes de-selected after the first character is typed in the box. If I click the state again it will let me continue to rename without interruption.
Unity 5.3.4f1
Playmaker 1.8.2.f7
Thanks
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jeanfabre on August 14, 2016, 10:04:48 AM
Hi,

 uhm, that's odd. I can't repro exactly what you have, but something slightly different where the state stack goes blank after you rename a state and straight away create a new var from an action on that state.

Maybe you could do a screencast, then I'll try to do exactly as you do to try and repro.

 Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: Unisonkid on September 12, 2016, 01:36:02 PM
I had this same issue happening as well and I basically gutted my project to get to the bottom of it and came to find out it was another asset causing the problem.
In my case it was Suimono water system. Now once I found out it was this causing it I did test and found that it was only causing the problem when I had it active in the scene once I disable the game object PM returned back to functioning ability. So for those having the problem check other assets they might be calling the focus from PM when typing in the state rename or fsm rename fields. Hope this helps  ;)
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jeanfabre on September 12, 2016, 11:07:01 PM
Hi,

 yeah... sometimes it just doesn't want to let you be productive...

Thanks for the explanation, I'll try to remember this case when others are facing this issue.

Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: Anaxtasia on September 18, 2016, 12:07:55 PM
This is happening to me as well, and I don't have that asset.

But what it is FAR more worrying now is that I've lost the ability of writing more than one character in every action text field. Just as I enter a character I lose focus in the text field. Those from Unity are fine, it's only in the PM editor.

What it's really strange is that this morning it was fine and I've tried to power off my PC just in case it was something weird with my keyboard but no, it's happening only with PM.  :-\
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jrDev on September 18, 2016, 10:16:12 PM
This is happening to me as well, and I don't have that asset.

But what it is FAR more worrying now is that I've lost the ability of writing more than one character in every action text field. Just as I enter a character I lose focus in the text field. Those from Unity are fine, it's only in the PM editor.

What it's really strange is that this morning it was fine and I've tried to power off my PC just in case it was something weird with my keyboard but no, it's happening only with PM.  :-\
I am having this happen to me a lot. I kinda just posted a thread on this because I couldn't find another topic till now. What I am trying to understand from the poster above about the focus solution is how can a window call focus without being opened?

Thanks,
jrDev
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: Alex Chouls on September 18, 2016, 10:40:15 PM
It's not necessarily a window, it could be an inspector. Try collapsing inspectors in the Inspector Tab. But editor tools can also register callbacks that could steal focus without a window or inspector open.

Most of the time we've traced these focus problems to a third party editor extension misbehaving.

However we do have a couple of open focus bugs to do with editing a prefab when there is a prefab instance open in the scene. I'm still trying to reproduce that issue. If your focus problems happen specifically when editing prefabs or prefab instances please let me know!

Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jeanfabre on September 19, 2016, 12:49:19 AM
This is happening to me as well, and I don't have that asset.

But what it is FAR more worrying now is that I've lost the ability of writing more than one character in every action text field. Just as I enter a character I lose focus in the text field. Those from Unity are fine, it's only in the PM editor.

What it's really strange is that this morning it was fine and I've tried to power off my PC just in case it was something weird with my keyboard but no, it's happening only with PM.  :-\

Try to open an empty scene and then edit your Prefab, because I think you are having problem when editing prefabs right?

 also, make sure you have 1.8.3, the latest version from the Asset store. Do you get the problem even then?

Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: Anaxtasia on September 19, 2016, 06:50:39 AM
Try to open an empty scene and then edit your Prefab, because I think you are having problem when editing prefabs right?
Yep, that's right. I didn't notice that fact before.

Nevertheless, this morning all is fine again. I didn't do anything and I can edit that prefab without losing focus. Then again that's the first thing I've done after opening Unity, so I'm not sure if it's going to happen eventually.

I'll be sure to notify you guys and try to retrieve more data next time, so you could have better feedback to debug it.
also, make sure you have 1.8.3, the latest version from the Asset store. Do you get the problem even then?
I'm in 1.8.3 indeed. In fact I suspected about that recent version being the culprit because I recently upgraded to it.  ;D

Thank you all!
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jeanfabre on September 20, 2016, 10:02:31 AM
Hi,

 Thanks for your time!

Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: turritom on January 03, 2017, 11:52:00 AM

if i close the global variable window .. works it again
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: HeathClose on January 31, 2017, 01:39:42 PM

if i close the global variable window .. works it again

I just searched for this because my actions were constantly beeping at me when I was typing because they lose focus... I closed the global tab.. and it stopped immediately...

I keep my global tab docked... would be nice to continue with that workflow because I need it open to monitor things.

5.4.2f1
1.8.3
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jeanfabre on February 09, 2017, 12:41:39 AM
Hi,

 Make sure you report a bug on this  ( Menu PlayMaker/Tools) so that it can be tracked properly.

 Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: beowulfkaine on April 20, 2017, 10:34:13 AM
Anyone Figure this out? Keeps happening to me as well.  >:(

Just found this in the 1.84 Site

"Fixed bug where active control sometimes lost focus if error status changed (e.g. when editing required field)."

I'm running everything up to date.
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jeanfabre on April 21, 2017, 12:06:54 AM
Hi,

 I have pinged the problem, Hopefully it can be addressed for the next update.

 Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jeanfabre on April 24, 2017, 12:02:02 AM
Hi,

 Could you make a screencast showing the problem, I can not reproduce this. If I can create a clear set of repro steps, that will help.

 Make sure you have the latest version of PlayMaker when you repro.

Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: lucaderiu on July 21, 2017, 02:54:15 AM
Hi, just wanted to say that the same issue happens to me all the time.
When I rename a state, after the first letter I type, the field looses its focus and I have to select it again and type once again.
99% of times it works on second attempt but there was and isolated case where I had to type letter by letter, refocusing each time.
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: jeanfabre on August 09, 2017, 12:27:10 AM
Hi,

- Do you have other assets installed on that project?

- are you editing a field that is on a prefab?

Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: input fields loose focus
Post by: phannDOTde on September 21, 2017, 03:53:05 PM
Same for me - closing the "Global" Variables Window helped immediately - will continue to observe.