playMaker

Author Topic: Hop Pop - A game about bubble popping bunnies, better than a box of bubble wrap!  (Read 3631 times)

jasperPT

• I am a VFX Animator teaching myself to make games
I have just released my first game for IOS! Made entirely with Playmaker, graphics and animation done in photoshop.

Hop Pop is a high score game, your aim is to feed a genetically modified bunny (called a Hop) its favorite food, Carrots! Push bubbles together until they reach your Hop's favorite number to give it a carrot and score points!
But don't go over that number or you will accidentally feed it junk food... Yuck!

Check it out here - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/hop-pop/id965649986?ls=1&mt=8

A bit about making the game -

My aim with the game was to create the sensation of popping bubble wrap or a big nasty pimple, with the build up of tension as your bubbles get closer to popping, and a sense of frustration as your screen fills with pop-able bubbles until finally you figure out how to get the right numbers and... POW! I find the result quite satisfying and have almost missed several train stops from playing it.

I started trying to make games almost two years ago now, having created a few small failed experiments I finally settled on this idea as I managed to prototype it and make it fun within a weekend. After about 5 months of work late night or early morning work,  (I have a day job as a 3D VFX animator to keep money coming in) I finally managed to get it across the line.

Initially I had aimed to get it out for Easter, so I submitted to apple the week before, not fully understanding how the app store worked. It took two weeks for the game to get processed by apple which was sad, but at least the deadline forced me to finish the project to a releasable state.