playMaker

Author Topic: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject[SOLVED]  (Read 2575 times)

SeanC

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Set Array on another FSM/GameObject[SOLVED]
« on: January 31, 2016, 06:04:06 PM »
Hello,

I am using the latest BETA version of PM and I am trying to use the Array actions to set an Array Variable on another GameObject. Unfortunately, none of the actions seem to support that. "FSM Array Set" seemed promising, but that seems to only allow a string to be transferred - nowhere does it ask for the Variable type.

Am I missing something? How can i set an array variable/add an array item to an array on another GameObject.

Thanks!
SeanC
« Last Edit: June 18, 2018, 01:18:09 AM by djaydino »

mdotstrange

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 549
    • View Profile
    • Can't code? Who cares! Make games anyway!
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2016, 02:21:14 AM »
It seems like if you want to access an array on another object you have to create an array var that is global or use Arraymaker
Indie game dev and instructor at the Strange School. Learn Playmaker at the Strange School!

tropical

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2016, 09:30:01 AM »
"FSM Array Set" seemed promising, but that seems to only allow a string to be transferred - nowhere does it ask for the Variable type.

I have noticed that as well. To me the action somehow looks like work in progress. The tooltip text ("Set an item in an Array Variable in another FSM") differs from what is actually done.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 05:30:24 AM by tropical »

realrobo

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2016, 09:35:26 PM »
Any updates on this action?
I'm in pretty desperate need of this action to be fixed.  I have multiple game objects with dynamic Arrays in the scene, so I prefer not using global array variable.  And also I have only used just 1.8 array functions thus far, and would prefer not using array maker just to use this one function if it's possible.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2016, 09:50:21 PM by realrobo »

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13053
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2016, 11:20:16 PM »
Hi,

 Yes, 1.8 currently is missing an attribute for us to be able to access other fsm's FsmArray variables.

I'll ping Alex on this. I guess there are technical difficulties in this specific process.

Get back to me end of this week, I think I can make an action that let's you soft link variables, you won't get any list of variables, you'll have to use a regular string.


Bye,

 Jean

realrobo

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2016, 07:33:05 AM »
AH,  thank you :]

realrobo

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2016, 04:50:08 PM »
Hello.
Is there any update to the action for the soft link variables you mentioned?

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13053
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2016, 11:43:22 PM »
Hi,

 Not yet, Let me tackle this.

Bye,

 Jean

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13053
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2016, 12:01:30 AM »
Hi,

 It's actually coming in the beta, so this will be soon available.

Bye,

 Jean

craigz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
    • Haven Made
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2016, 10:56:47 PM »
excellent! really need this as well! :D

Silicon Power

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2018, 03:26:29 PM »
What happened to this?

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3189
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2018, 01:17:17 AM »
Hi.
You can use the "Set Fsm Array Item" (Single item on target arrya) and "Set Fsm Array" (whole array) action :)

Silicon Power

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2018, 02:38:20 AM »
Hi.
You can use the "Set Fsm Array Item" (Single item on target arrya) and "Set Fsm Array" (whole array) action :)

It doesn't work correctly for me. I used "Set Fsm Array" and it just change my variable to default value.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3189
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject[SOLVED]
« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2018, 10:43:22 AM »
Hi.
Indeed "Set fsm Array" seems to be broken.

in playmaker 1.9.0p2

"Set Fsm Array Item" does seem to work.

I will post a bug report.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3189
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Set Array on another FSM/GameObject[SOLVED]
« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2018, 10:54:03 AM »
Hi,
I think i found the issue.
Here is an updated version you can try. (attachment below)