playMaker

Author Topic: Door opening FSM  (Read 3834 times)

unearthly

• Junior Playmaker
Door opening FSM
« on: May 03, 2016, 05:31:09 AM »
I'm a PlayMaker newbie and I need some help. I have a door opening FSM activated by a trigger zone. At the Start state I have a trigger event connecting to one with a Get Key Down action, then an I Tween Rotate To, followed by another Get Key Down action and another I Tween with reversed parameters. All works great except that the initial trigger doesn't stop - the player can continue use the key press and open and close doors where ever they go in the level. Have tried inserting exit trigger events to no effect. Any suggestions will be welcome.

mdotstrange

• Can't code? Who cares! Make games anyway!
Re: Door opening FSM
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2016, 12:01:16 PM »
It sounds like you are doing the right thing with the Trigger Exit- when you watch the first door FSM what is it doing? getting stuck in a state that waits for Get Key down?

Posting screencaps of your fsm/states/actions will make it easier for someone to help  :)
Indie game dev and instructor at the Strange School. Learn Playmaker at the Strange School!

ransomink

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2016, 02:34:59 AM »
Hmm, this could be a few things. After you open the doors, the FINISHED event should link back to the Start state (so it can check the trigger again), not another Get Key Down action.

I'm guessing you link between the states using the Get Key Down actions. So once the door opens it waits for input to close, then it waits for input to open again. It never returns to the Start state to check if the player enters the trigger again.

Hopefully this is the issue as it's hard to tell without pictures of the FSM/states/actions...

unearthly

• Junior Playmaker
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2016, 08:09:52 AM »