playMaker

Author Topic: Quick raycasting question  (Read 2295 times)

ultrafop

• Playmaker Newbie
Quick raycasting question
« on: May 05, 2018, 04:54:38 PM »
Hello all,

I think this is a quick question!

So I'm coming from Construct 2, where there really isn't any built-in raycasting (I essentially made what I'm doing in Unity using trig and overlapping checks,), so I'm pretty new to the concept and how to use it best (I'm excited to learn something new!!). I'm wondering, if I'm using raycasting to set an object to the floor's angle, will that require 2 rays (one on each side of the object) or can I do it with one ray? Also, if I need 2 rays and have to find some angle between them, can I use playmaker to do this or would I need to script it myself? Any information is sincerely appreciated!
« Last Edit: May 05, 2018, 05:02:36 PM by ultrafop »

ultrafop

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: Quick raycasting question
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2018, 05:44:02 PM »
Okay

So I've been searching these forums and trying more on this and realized you can indeed get a normal with one ray. However, I'm working in a 2D project and need a Z axis value to rotate my character. I've tried using a normal RayCast (i.e. not Ray cast 2d) to grab a z value but when I do it saves a euler as vec 0,0,0 no matter what. Oddly enough if I simply grab rotation for an object I can get all three vectors no problem (also, testing a ray cast 2d gives vectors for X and Y just fine). Are either of these outcomes a bug?

Also, assuming I can't get a Z for a normal raycast in a 2D project, can I extrapolate Z using X and Y with a ray cast 2d? I've been trying but maybe I just don't understand how the raycasting works with normals yet. Any help is deeply appreciated!!

ultrafop

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2018, 02:46:47 PM »
bump

I swear I'm trying everyone lol. I need a raycasting shirpa! It's cold on this mountain.

DanielThomas

• Beta Group
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2018, 03:56:53 PM »