playMaker

Author Topic: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)  (Read 5515 times)

precisionclear

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2017, 08:34:25 PM »
Thank you for these actions, and the speedy update;

However I was wondering, is there anyway to select these objects via a mouse
click, or a getButtonDown function?

The only alternative I could think of was to parent the TextMesh to a 3DPanel but then there would be issues with scaling and wraparounds. Not a good solution to build ane entire project around.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2017, 04:51:00 PM by precisionclear »

craigz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
    • Haven Made
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #16 on: September 20, 2017, 11:05:36 AM »
Wanted to jump in here real quick and see if there'd been an update for the actions to work with the free version of TMP?

Getting this error continually -


And then this read out at the bottom ;)


As ever, thank you for all the wonderful work! :D

-craigz

MattyWS

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2018, 05:38:58 PM »
Hi, sorry to rez this topic but it seems to be the last known actions for TextMesh Pro+Playmaker actions.

I imported the actions into my project and all of my UI (it was all under one prefab), thats buttons, images, texts.. all were moved around, set to different locations and incorrect positions and I couldnt move them anymore. Once I removed these actions I could move them again but the locations were still all wrong and I had to manually move everything back to where it all was (lesson learned, back up projects before importing new things).

So I want to ask, is this the definite latest of the actions and can it be used with the latest version of Unity and the free version of TextMesh Pro? If not, is there a more standard set of actions for this?

All I really want to do is update a text with an action. xD

Thanks,
MattyWS

tcmeric

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2018, 09:07:37 PM »
Hi MattyWS,

This is about official as it is going to get for TMP actions I think. They are pretty comprehensive  8)

The issue you described is very strange. They shouldn't affect the UI in anyway without being run of course. Did you get any errors in the consol after bringing in the actions?

They work with up to Unity 2017.3, the latest free version of textmesh pro from the asset store. (They have not yet been officially tested on  Unity 2018.1 beta).

What version of Unity are you using? What happens if you just import 1 or 2 of the actions into your project?

tcmeric

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2018, 09:10:19 PM »
Hi Craig,

Sorry for the super slow reply!! I didnt see your post before. You may have already figured this out.

Textmesh pro has two different components. 1 is for uGui only, 1 is for regular text in 3d space only. Therefore the TMP actions have 2 major sets of actions. The "regular" ones and the uGui ones. It appears you are using the "regular" action to try and set text on a "uGui" component. You need to choose the correct action for uGui.

I hope that helps!

tcmeric

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #20 on: March 05, 2018, 12:25:02 AM »

MattyWS

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #21 on: March 05, 2018, 04:27:47 PM »
That does seem to be the issue actually... I have Unity 2017 version 3.1f1. I hope it's resolved soon but until then I guess I will just hold off on using Textmesh Pro. :(

Thanks for the info!

Plancksize

  • Beta Group
  • Junior Playmaker
  • *
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #22 on: July 18, 2018, 11:16:55 AM »
With Textmesh Pro being part of unity as default now, this is even more precious. Thanks a lot.

Kind feel this could be part of the Ecosystem now. ;)

tcmeric

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #23 on: July 18, 2018, 06:51:51 PM »
Hi, thanks.

Yes if djaydino or Jean would like to put it on the ecosystem, that would be good. Since there are many actions, maybe as a package.

So far it has been very stable and working correctly. Works for the 2018 version, 2017 free version and unity 5 free version. Never tested on the unity 5 paid version.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3651
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #24 on: July 19, 2018, 03:18:25 AM »
Hi.
Yes that can be done :)

Could you add these 2 lines to each action :
Code: [Select]
/*--- __ECO__ __PLAYMAKER__ __ACTION__ ---*/
// Url : http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=15008.0

I saw some uGui actions there.
Is the uGUi package required for the uGui action.
If so, is it possible to convert (or make new ones) for the build-in UI ?
If not, can they be renamed to UI instead of uGui for better clarity (only for the Ecosystem package, it's probably better to keep yours on github)

Plancksize

  • Beta Group
  • Junior Playmaker
  • *
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #25 on: July 24, 2018, 06:01:42 AM »
Hi.
Yes that can be done :)

Could you add these 2 lines to each action :
Code: [Select]
/*--- __ECO__ __PLAYMAKER__ __ACTION__ ---*/
// Url : http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=15008.0

I saw some uGui actions there.
Is the uGUi package required for the uGui action.
If so, is it possible to convert (or make new ones) for the build-in UI ?
If not, can they be renamed to UI instead of uGui for better clarity (only for the Ecosystem package, it's probably better to keep yours on github)

I think the reason they are name uGui is because of the old legacy UI action still present that are called just UI.

tcmeric

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #26 on: July 24, 2018, 07:21:02 AM »
Hiya, slow reply.

Yes, there are basically 2 sets of actions for textmesh pro. Ones for textmesh pro that is on the canvas (ugui) and the ones for textmesh pro as game objects. They are not the same component type and therefore needed their own actions.

Within each folder, they are then organized into basic (most common used), advanced (less common used) and shaders (for shader control).

There was a plan to maybe sell the advanced/shader ones, at one point. But I am far too lazy to organize that.  ;D

Since Unity 5, all built in UI is ugui now, no? (Except those used for editor windows, etc).
« Last Edit: July 24, 2018, 07:22:55 AM by tcmeric »

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3651
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #27 on: July 25, 2018, 04:44:25 AM »
Hi tcmeric.

Actually it is just UI
https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/s/user-interface-ui

But i was referring to the uGui package on the Ecosystem.
if it does not require that package i think it is better to change the name to UI for better clarity :)

megmaltese

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #28 on: October 06, 2018, 03:13:12 PM »
Why I can't find these on the Ecosystem?
I searched for textmesh, text mesh, text pro, no way... I only find a "set text mech" which I don't even dare to download...

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3651
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Textmesh Pro Playmaker Actions (free)
« Reply #29 on: October 07, 2018, 05:19:25 AM »
Hi.
For now you can get them on github (link on the 1st page)

you can drop them anywhere in your project.

I asked tcmeric if he could update the actions to make them compatible for the ecosystem, but i did not get a reply yet.