playMaker

Author Topic: How to Rotate First Person with slope / floor  (Read 2092 times)

Orjax

• Playmaker Newbie
  • Father/son team, self taught, love learning
How to Rotate First Person with slope / floor
« on: May 20, 2017, 06:35:14 PM »
I am using a FPS from standard assets, I would like the whole character (controller, and camera)  to rotate with the floor.

Example I'm driving a car (first person) and want to go on vertical loop track, I want the FPS to go upside down,  Or a slope to rotate to look up the slope when on it.  The camera stays looking at horizon on any slope now, dont want that.

I want the camera Parallel to the ground that it is on.  Also having trouble getting it to go up a ramp with a 90 deg end angle,  A smooth ramp that ends in about 90 deg. angle.  I want it to fly straight up like a half pipe.   I have messed with all the settings in FPS and character. (and searched online for a couple hours)

Sorry hope that is not confussing.  Thanks for the help

tcmeric

• Beta Group
Re: How to Rotate First Person with slope / floor
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2017, 01:55:42 AM »
I am less familiar with that character controller, but maybe you need a different character/camera controller?

Orjax

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2017, 02:12:10 AM »
thanks for the reply,  I saw a free asset for car controller.  I'm gonna try that,

I just thought there was an easy setting to keep parallel to the ground you are on...
But I guess not, I will keep looking, maybe SPB vehicle physics asset will work...

Thanks,
Anthony

Doh

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2017, 07:32:37 AM »
I can't explain this in a detailed way due to my lack of experience with this particular use, though character controllers I've played around with in the past used this method.