playMaker

Author Topic: Timeline - Set Generic Binding  (Read 253 times)

Kubold

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« on: October 09, 2017, 05:51:05 AM »
Can we have a PlayableDirector.SetGenericBinding Action?

I want to be able to assign a GameObject to a Timeline track in runtime.

As in the Unity Staff member answers in this post: https://forum.unity.com/threads/set-playabledirector-bindings-from-script.487337/

Thanks!

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12342
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2017, 11:27:19 PM »
Hi,

 yes, it's planned as an addition.

 Bye,

 Jean

Kubold

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 02:36:06 AM »
Thank you! This way we will be able to play cutscenes with characters spawned during gameplay.

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12342
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2017, 12:43:10 AM »
Hi,

 ok, first take on an action to set genericBinding. You can get it on the Ecosystem or here

I think I'll need more features like the ability to select which track, by index or name. But let me know if this one works for you.

Bye,

 Jean


Kubold

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2017, 12:25:24 PM »
Thank you! Totally works. It assigns the object to the first track of the Timeline, so it is usable for me in most cases.

The ability to select tracks would be awesome. With that, I could make cinematic cutscenes with multiple characters, that are spawned during gameplay.

Thanks again!

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12342
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2017, 11:09:16 AM »
Hi,

 yes, but I am not sure what the name of the tracks come from, if you can ship me a package with a multi track channel with different names, I'll see how I can make it work, I can also do it with indexes in all cases.

 bye,

 Jean

Kubold

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2017, 01:08:08 AM »
I attached an example scene.

Kubold

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2017, 03:51:04 AM »
It's perfectly fine if the Action will allow you to choose only by index. I'm not sure if choosing by track name is necessary. But if it is possible and easy to do then sure :)

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12342
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2017, 12:50:19 AM »
Hi,

 I think you forgot the animator file:



Bye,

 Jean

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12342
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2017, 01:34:19 AM »
Hi,

 please update the action for setting generic binding, you';ll have the option to set binding for a track index or track name( Stream Name)
 
Let me know :)

if that's ok, I'll wrap this up and create a package with the timeline proxy as well.

 Bye,

 Jean

Kubold

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2017, 08:11:27 AM »
Hi,

 I think you forgot the animator file:



Bye,

 Jean



No, no, that is the whole point of this Action. This empty slot is where you should assign a GameObject with Animator component using your Action :) It is empty by design. Anything that will be assigned to this track, should play the animation on this track.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2017, 08:13:33 AM by Kubold »

Kubold

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline - Set Generic Binding
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2017, 08:12:02 AM »
Hi,

 please update the action for setting generic binding, you';ll have the option to set binding for a track index or track name( Stream Name)
 
Let me know :)

if that's ok, I'll wrap this up and create a package with the timeline proxy as well.

 Bye,

 Jean

Thank you! That's awesome! :)