playMaker

Author Topic: Player Movement [SOLVED]  (Read 1885 times)

Grumpy Git

• Playmaker Newbie
Player Movement [SOLVED]
« on: April 14, 2018, 07:08:02 AM »
I'm new to Playmaker and I have a problem which is probably simple to resolve, but which I can't sort out.  I have my player moving forwards and backwards with W and S keys.  I'm trying to enable it to rotate left and right using the A and D keys, using the Rotate action.  The player does rotate but carries on spinning round even when I release the keys. The y axis is set to -2 for turning left, and every frame is checked.  Have I missed something?
« Last Edit: April 18, 2018, 01:53:02 PM by djaydino »

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
Re: Player Movement
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2018, 02:18:12 PM »
hi.
If you used "Get Key Down" in the 'Idle' state then on both states 'turn left' and 'turn right'
You need to set a "Get Key Up"  with the event transitioning to 'Idle' so Playmaker/unity knows you released the key.

Grumpy Git

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2018, 04:56:25 PM »
Hi  Thank you for your reply.  There are no 'Get Key' actions in this state machine. Idle has just a 'Get Axis' action set to Horizontal and Left Event set to Left and Right Event set to Right.  The Turn Left and Turn Right states also have a Rotate action to turn -2 or 2 on the y axis.  If I just quickly press the A or D keys a small turn is made but if I press longer, to turn more, the character spins continually.

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2018, 05:04:26 PM »
Hi,
Maybe you should place 'get axis' and rotate in a single state like this :

If the reaction is to slow you can adjust the sensitivity and the gravity in the input manager (Edit/Project Settings/Input)

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2018, 01:55:41 AM »
Hi.