playMaker

Author Topic: Multi VS single scene & how to implement it in PlayMaker  (Read 1741 times)

OctoClo

• Playmaker Newbie
Multi VS single scene & how to implement it in PlayMaker
« on: May 15, 2018, 11:52:16 AM »
Hi,

I'm currently working on a post-apocalyptic 2D game entirely made with PlayMaker with a sidescrolling view. I have already worked on Unity but I'm quite new to PlayMaker.

The game is about a heroin who repairs robots in her home and uses them to extract resources like iron, oil, etc in a dungeon made of 10-15 rooms. Each room contains spots which can be exploited by the robots to extract resources if the heroin orders them to. Each robot, when exploiting a spot, spawns a little robot at regular intervals. This little robot has to go to the house to drop the newly extracted resources, and then go back to his parent robot, wait for some time, go again... until the spot is empty.
The player bumps into these little robots and sees them moving to the house or back to their parent.

Another thing is that each room (including the home) is a looping room, as in Odin Sphere (example : https://youtu.be/mBneHdeondY?t=49s). The doors are just sprites and the player has to press an arrow in front of them to go through. In order to do the looping, I divided each room into 3 blocks which I then translated depending on the current camera position and bounds.

I have done the home scene, with robots, spots, house, all of this works well.

My main question is : would it be better for me to have each room of the dungeon on a different scene, or all of them in a single scene, with the home ?