playMaker

Author Topic: Manual for PlayMaker for actions I want to make (dummy edition?)  (Read 4547 times)

Tyler

• Playmaker Newbie
Hello,

I am new to PlayMaker (to Unity as well but I know the basics I think without the programming part of course).

Is there a PlayMaker manual/catalouge or something similar?
I know there is the action reference and stuff, but what I am looking for is a dummy proof manual for instance like this:

How do I make the player move?
Create this FSM with this actions/transitions and events and so on.

How do I trigger a door open?
Do this and select this in action browser.

My problem is, I looked a ton of tutorials for PM but people always make it different. I can't find the best practice solution for all this stuff, don't want to add mistakes to my workflow from the beginnging but to make it right like it should be.

I hope you know what I mean.

I am kinda lost. If I want to add a function to a player or an object I thinking about what steps do I need. I want to avoid to add to many states if it's possible to make my desired function with three states instead of ten.

How did you start and what do you recommend me?
« Last Edit: July 07, 2018, 01:23:07 PM by Tyler »

verybinary

• Junior Playmaker
    • The Museum of Digital
Re: Manual for PlayMaker for actions I want to make (dummy edition?)
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2018, 12:33:45 PM »
I watched a (I think it was official) playmaker series when I first started. it was outdated at the time, but still showed me how playmaker worked, and how to piece together everything I needed to do what I wanted. nothing was real specific to anything I wanted, but it still showed me how to do "everything"
it showed how to make a door that opens, and gave me a template for the door to play around with to learn how to open it in many different ways.