playMaker

Author Topic: Some good FSM practices for optimal results [Discussion]  (Read 5811 times)

mrminico

Some good FSM practices for optimal results [Discussion]
« on: August 12, 2018, 07:38:36 PM »
Hi Everyone,

Today I was making a sprinting system that has a lot to do with input axes and I ran into a bunch of FPS issues out of a newbie mistake I would make in my earlier days of using playmaker. I found a clever way to fix my issue and thought I'd make a discussion on some of the methods I used that helped me get the most optimal results. I hope this thread will help others searching for ways to make optimal FSM's and I'd like for the playmaker veterans to also give us their wisdom on anything I may not know ;D

Now I'm no programmer but I am aware that as much as there is good code there is also bad code and the same rules apply to FSMs.

I've been using playmaker for almost 2 years+ and here's a really short list of things I try to be consistent with:
  • Avoid calling actions on every frame in starting states unless neccessary
  • Avoid getting variables on every frame unless necessary
  • Split FSM's into smaller components it can help with referencing variables
  • Replace FINISHED event with custom event "Done" FINISHED is used systematically. I've experienced Issue with certain MATHS operations while using FINISHED.

Example of FINISHED systematic use: (Try using wait and dont assign a finish event in the action inspector only assign FINISHED to the state transition event. It'll automatically transition over to the next state)
  • When using rigidbodies always check FixedUpdate if given the option (unity updates physics in FixedUpdate)
  • Use Add force or Set Velocity actions when moving rigid bodies

*If you end up using translate check the fixed update option. It'll make things much smoother although it's not the most optimal option by unity standards. I hope we get better rigidbody translate action*