playMaker

Author Topic: [Newbie] Something I don´t like about playmaker.  (Read 3064 times)

ramones

• Playmaker Newbie
[Newbie] Something I don´t like about playmaker.
« on: March 06, 2013, 07:03:15 AM »
Hi!,

I just started with playmaker today. I'm a full time programmer but would like to have a tool to let my designers help with the game design to have a bit more time to spend on other matters.

I have finished seeing the Animation Graph video and there's something that has really shocked me. When you are building transitions to the different states based on speeds, you don't have visual feedback in the FSM editor. I mean, I was expecting to see a transition from walk to run with some kind of mark, etc... when currentSpeed>=runSpeed. All the transition logic is hidden in the state making understand the FSM really difficult at a first glance. Is this the way playmaker works? Why not have events for this kind of "if" statements?

I'm really sorry to post a complain for my first post, but I'm checking playmaker and uscript and would like to know which suits best for my needs.

Thanks in advance.

Robert Foster

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: [Newbie] Something I don´t like about playmaker.
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2013, 08:12:11 AM »
playmaker  is cool and fast  some part is easy some is not  but say with playmaker i have for 2 year  take the tutorial  it abut a week let it all  sink in

ramones

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2013, 01:17:09 PM »
I don't doubt it, but I would like to know if it is possible to do what I suggested in my previous post.

Alex Chouls

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • LinkedIn
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2013, 02:58:36 PM »
Are you asking if you can evaluate an event as code? If so, you can't currently do that. However, you could name the event "currentSpeed>=runSpeed" ;)

But I'm not sure I follow exactly what you want to see...

Playmaker is designed around levels of abstraction.