playMaker

Author Topic: Are All PlayMaker Variables Global?  (Read 4784 times)

Psmith

• Playmaker Newbie
Are All PlayMaker Variables Global?
« on: June 13, 2011, 07:19:14 PM »
I'm not a programmer.  But, I do know that in programming languages there are ways to designate whether a variable (a container) is accessible to the entire program being written, or just to a given block of code.

In the PlayMaker documentation and in the examples, I can't see a way to differentiate between the two variable types.

Does this mean that all PlayMaker variables are accessible to all states?

Does a PlayMaker file or the entire FSM get written as a single block of code?

What kind of code does PlayMaker generate?

Thanks,

Psmith
« Last Edit: June 13, 2011, 07:23:44 PM by Psmith »

MaDDoX

• 1.2 Beta
    • FluidPlay Studios
Re: Are All PlayMaker Variables Global?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 12:17:23 AM »
all PlayMaker variables are accessible to all states?
Yes, but these are actually "local", in an FSM sense at least. A "global" variable would be seen by every FSM active in the scene, but there's no such thing currently, you need to set event data -> send an event or read/write the variable remotely - check the "read int" action I've posted for an example.

Does a PlayMaker file or the entire FSM get written as a single block of code?
Not really, the FSM data (whatever actions, variables and values you've set) is saved along the scene, probably as a metadata. Alex can clarify this further.