playMaker

Author Topic: Create Object and Play Animation [SOLVED]  (Read 7618 times)

hellbender

• Playmaker Newbie
Create Object and Play Animation [SOLVED]
« on: May 18, 2013, 10:30:12 AM »
Hello guys

I apologize from the beginning since I'm not a programmer, therefore my question could sound a bit naive.

I'm building a 3D gui and I'm using GameObjects as buttons. I'm facing an issue since I want to create instances of a 3D object and play an animation clip it comes with.
 I though that going for a Create Object and a following Play Animation could do the trick. I was wrong apparently.

Issue 1: I decided to use a spawn point to visually place different instanced objects accurately (a knife hitting a plank, the clip I did ends with the knife plunged in the plank). I placed a cube as a spawn point but the object generated appears in 0,0,0 instead of where the cube is.

Issue 2: I'm storing the animated object in a GameObject variable to be able to instance and animate other similar objects with subsequent transitions, but when i put a Play Animation action after a Create Object one, I can't select a clip to reproduce because playmaker says there are no anims on the object.

So then what should I do to clone and animate objects that contain animation clips?
« Last Edit: May 19, 2013, 05:43:34 PM by hellbender »

Satrio

• Junior Playmaker
Re: Create Object and Play Animation
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2013, 11:30:59 AM »
Hi!

Issue 1: If I understand your problem right, you need to offset your knife with anim so the last frame matches up with the plank. Usually problems with this is about the pivot point of the object.
An old 3d trick is to put different nullobjects (empty GO) in the top of the hierarchy so you can move stuff around.