playMaker

Author Topic: Placing objects on a grid and being able to reconfigure their positions  (Read 3107 times)

nomad

• Playmaker Newbie
Hi all,

To start, I'm fairly new to unity, playmaker, and have very limited development experience. My background is in 3D and am starting to get familiar with playmaker.

I'm trying to create a Configurator with the following conditions:

- The user starts by selecting from 3 preconfigured setups which each spawn a bunch of prefabs at specific locations on a 4x4 grid. These prefabs are selected from 5 different types of objects (square, circle, etc) with 2 or more variations of each type (square_A, circle_B, etc).

- Each setup must contain 1 of each type of object, but that one object can be any variation.

- After a preconfigured system has been created and the objects are spawned in certain spots on the grid, the user can then begin to swap out new variations of the objects on a "1 in 1 out" basis.

- Some of the objects need 2 slots on the grid, most take up only 1 slot.

My problems start with the objects that need 2 slots. They have to be able to test for and push other objects over to make room.

I'm totally lost and looking for a bit of direction. I don't really understand how use arrays, properly store the right variables, or setup the testing logic. Any help would be appreciated, if only to lead me in the right direction.

Thanks!

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Placing objects on a grid and being able to reconfigure their positions
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2013, 12:38:28 AM »
Hi,

We are working with the author of Grid Framework on the asset store to provide playmaker support, I think it will be helping you a lot for what you want to achieve.

https://trello.com/c/ikhSzAzh/21-grid-framework