playMaker

Author Topic: Array and List as actual Playmaker variables  (Read 5942 times)

Dindrane

• Playmaker Newbie
Array and List as actual Playmaker variables
« on: December 26, 2013, 05:08:07 AM »
Hello, I recently got Playmaker and it is an awesome tool and I do know about Arraymaker and how to make custom actions. But I am not very fond of coding much since I am an artist. While Arraymaker kind of gives a work around it is not very clean and not very up to date to use it much, so I would really appreciate you guys just adding lists and arrays as private and global variable types with a corresponding set of actions instead of Arraymaker components or using arrays in custom actions.

Probably this feature is left out because a lot of people who use arrays already code well enough to go around the problem or not use Playmaker for it at all
or because it produces some technical issue. I however would find that extremely useful!

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Array and List as actual Playmaker variables
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2013, 06:17:51 AM »
Hi,

Can you precise the technical issues you have or what's not clean or not up to date with ArrayMaker? I am willing to see what people expect from ArrayMaker. I use it on a daily bases so I may miss the obvious on some functionalities or approaches. I hardly find another way to present all this, the only addition I would do are:

-- custom editors for entries in arrays and hashtables
-- in memory arrays and hashtale so that you don't need a component to store lists.
-- read write, import export of data.

Any other more advance used, I turn to Xml or proper databases really.

bye,

Jean

Dindrane

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2013, 08:27:40 AM »
Hey ^^ I am sorry to call it not clean I am sure you put your best efforts in.