playMaker

Author Topic: Problems adding GameObjects to an ArrayList in ArrayMaker  (Read 1668 times)

stevvers

• Playmaker Newbie
Problems adding GameObjects to an ArrayList in ArrayMaker
« on: September 09, 2014, 05:32:08 PM »
Hi guys,

I’m very new to the Game Dev/Playmaker thing, but I like to think I’m learning quickly. What I’m aiming to do here is a little complicated, but I’ll try to explain it as simply as possible.

Essentially I’m trying to create a grid-based star-map procedurally. I’ve managed to get everything working except for the final step of adding each star to an ArrayList for future access. What I have is a number of quads arranged in a grid of 6 x 6, so 36 grids total. Each quad has an FSM that determines the grid’s size and location and spawns a random star-type (from a separate ArrayList) somewhere within that grid.

Because these objects are being generated at run-time, it’s very difficult for me to reference them directly, and I really need an ArrayList that stores each star at an index that matches the grid # so I can access the star object based on where it is in the grid.  I think perhaps this wouldn’t be such an issue if I had a single FSM creating all of the stars, but this system seems much more modular to me – which is important to my development model.