playMaker

Author Topic: Randomly changing variables in prefabs  (Read 796 times)

RobotGoggles

• Playmaker Newbie
Randomly changing variables in prefabs
« on: November 21, 2021, 02:28:32 PM »
I've been using Playmaker off and on for a couple years now, but I'm almost ready to switch to a different system.

Is there any way around the MASSIVE bug that randomly changes variables on prefabs?

I know that I can unpack each prefab and re-create it, but I've been working on my game since February and every time I have to do this it becomes a much larger and more circuitous task. Currently my game is completely broken because random variables change at runtime, and it's far from the first time this has happened.

There must be some solution or workaround here, right?
When life hands you insomnia, make video games.

andyandyandy

• Beta Group
  • Junior Playmaker
Re: Randomly changing variables in prefabs
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2021, 06:59:45 PM »
I have the same problem sometimes, is very random. I would make a duplicate prefab just in case until they can solve it. I had this problem for a year now.

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2021, 09:37:31 AM »
Hi.
Which playmaker versions are you using?

On our project we still use 1,9.0 and i have it when i do changes on a prefab.
but when i restart then it works correct.

Something i noticed also is when copy actions and then change variables on them that it uses the old variable, but also fixed when i restart.

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2021, 09:49:13 AM »
also for me it's most of the time (if not every time)
the gameobject variable on a action that gets changed

RobotGoggles

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2021, 02:16:16 PM »
I'm using Playmaker 1.9.1