Playmaker Forum

PlayMaker Help & Tips => PlayMaker Help => Topic started by: ndever on August 06, 2017, 07:31:28 AM

Title: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: ndever on August 06, 2017, 07:31:28 AM
Hi,

I'm working on a simple dice game where there are different kind of dice to throw with. There's a scene where you can choose the dice with toggles. There's a global array which contains which dice are selected. All seems to be working just fine but I get this error when I try to make the app remember the selection on the toggles screen.

When the scene loads I check with the array if the toggle should be turn on or off. Strange thing is it works when I do this only for the first dice. But if a do the checking on the second, I get the error. I attached a shot, hope it is clear what I'm trying to do :) Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene
Post by: jeanfabre on August 07, 2017, 10:31:07 AM
Hi,

 Simply drop in your scene this PlayMaker uGui prefab ( it's in the "PlayMaker uGui" folder)

more infos on the wiki: https://hutonggames.fogbugz.com/f/page?W1192


 Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: ndever on August 07, 2017, 12:45:41 PM
I'm sorry, which prefab should I drop? The Playmaker UGui? All scenes have it but I still get the error. Also, I can't seem to read the wiki site. Should I register?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: djaydino on August 07, 2017, 09:16:18 PM
Hi,
It is this page that jean referred to https://hutonggames.fogbugz.com/default.asp?W1192

What error are you getting?
Can you show the error and the fsm/states/actions?
The more info we get, the easier it will be to solve :)
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: ndever on August 08, 2017, 06:20:29 PM
Hi,

here's what I do:

- Array Get the global DiceArray which holds all the selections
- the output is stored in a local bool (dice_bool) and tested with Bool Test
- True turns on the toggle, False turns it off with U Gui Toggle Set Is On
- Error message comes here: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene

or at least that's how it happened until I had to do a complete Win10 reinstall.. Fresh Unity, downloaded my project from the cloud and voilĂ , I can't reproduce the error anymore! Is this possible? :)

I'm gonna double check this tomorrow until then thanks for all the help guys!
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: djaydino on August 08, 2017, 07:44:24 PM
Hi,
If it happens again, let us know :)
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: ndever on August 09, 2017, 03:52:03 PM
OK, it's back. Happens the same way I described earlier. I have no idea what is causing this or why it didn't happen yesterday...

Here's the full repro:

- [Scene 1] I turn on the toggle by clicking on it, global DiceArray is set on by Set Array On event
- [Scene 2] Switching to Scene 2 then back to Scene 1
- [Scene 1] Array Get the global DiceArray which holds all the selections
- the output is stored in a local bool (dice_bool) and tested with Bool Test
- True turns on the toggle, False turns it off with U Gui Toggle Set Is On
- Error message comes here: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene

Any ideas?
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: djaydino on August 09, 2017, 07:44:21 PM
Hi,
Could you make a video showing your fsm/states/actions/hierarchy/error?

What Unity and playmaker versions are you using?
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: ndever on August 10, 2017, 06:25:36 PM
Sure thing:
Versions are Unity: 2017.1.0f3 and Playmaker: 1.8.4.f5.

If you have any more questions, just ask! And thanks again for the effort!
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: djaydino on August 10, 2017, 08:08:34 PM
Hi,
when you press the home button you are changing scenes right and then again when you press roll dice, somewhere in that part something is going wrong.
If you want i can have a look to your project.
you can upload and pm me the project.
If it is a public link, don't include the playmaker.dll file.
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: jeanfabre on August 11, 2017, 01:56:32 AM
Hi,

 normally I have accounted scene changes for the ugui proxy, Do you have the latest ugui package version from the Ecosystem?

Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: ndever on August 12, 2017, 01:13:50 PM
Hi,

I downloaded the latest, full ugui proxy addon and updated all the addons I already had. This seems to solved the problem, the error is gone now. I hope it won't come back again :)

Thank you all for the suggestions and help!
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: ndever on August 13, 2017, 05:28:00 AM
Well, it is back. I have really why it doesn't occur all the time.. It seems that it's missing PlayMakerUGuiSceneProxy which of course is a component of Playmaker UGui prefab. I guessed it probably goes wrong when I want to set on the toggle (uGuiToggleSetIsOn). And after that I'm totally lost..
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: jeanfabre on August 15, 2017, 04:06:59 AM
Hi,

ok, let's forget about this :) I made an update where you don't need anymore to worry about a proxy at all.

 Please update ugui from the Ecosystem, let me know how it goes.

 Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: nFighter on August 15, 2017, 10:23:31 AM
Cool news! What is the best way to update all uGui actions? I suppose, pressing update button on every uGui action is not the optimal way?
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: jeanfabre on August 16, 2017, 02:14:27 AM
Hi,

 no no, you get the ugui proxy full package, all ugui actions are included.

 and actions don't change anyway, it's the proxies that have changed. so just the regular ugui proxy package will do the job too.


 Bye,

 Jean
Title: Re: Missing 'PlayMaker UGui' prefab in scene[SOLVED]
Post by: ndever on August 16, 2017, 05:08:25 AM
Hi,

thanks, it is - once again - working fine, no errors yet. I'll keep you posted if anything funny happens.

Bye,
ndever