Playmaker Forum

Playmaker Help & Tips => Playmaker Help => Topic started by: Disastercake on May 11, 2012, 07:38:01 PM

Title: [SOLVED] How do you recover Playmaker after a Unity crash?
Post by: Disastercake on May 11, 2012, 07:38:01 PM
After some bad crashes that occur when doing things with Playmaker (like right now I tried dragging an object into a specify object slot and it crashed) Playmaker will not appear in the top menu bar of Unity anymore.  I can not see the FSM GUI at all, and there are no options visible now to display it.  How do I get this back?
Title: Re: How do you recover Playmaker after a Unity crash?
Post by: Disastercake on May 11, 2012, 10:46:01 PM
I got it working again after a while of fudging around an reimporting it a few times.  Still now sure what's wrong with it though.
Title: Re: How do you recover Playmaker after a Unity crash?
Post by: Disastercake on May 15, 2012, 01:23:32 PM
I realized that if Playmaker custom actions have any sort of compile error in them, Playmaker will not load correctly in Unity on Unity startup.  This is probably a bug on Playmaker's part, and it'd be cool if it got addressed. =D

To repro this:
Create a custom Action.
Leave a compile error in it.
Save project and Close unity.
Try to open the project back up.
Notice no menu bar item for Playmaker, and no access to Playmaker GUI.

The work around for this is to comment out (or fix) the compile error issues, save the script, then relaunch Unity.
Title: Re: How do you recover Playmaker after a Unity crash?
Post by: Alex Chouls on May 15, 2012, 02:02:25 PM
I'll look into this, but I'm not sure there's anything we can do about it - Unity compiles editor scripts, and decides when to stop because of compile errors. I believe all other editor extensions have this same problem...

I do wish these errors had popup dialogs or were more in your face! Right now it's not obvious that compiling of other scripts has stopped because of errors that users might not even notice... :(

For now I would say always look for and fix all errors in the console first, before trying anything else...