Playmaker Forum

PlayMaker Updates & Downloads => Share New Actions => Topic started by: Digitom on March 11, 2020, 02:59:49 PM

Title: Input System Actions (Git Install)
Post by: Digitom on March 11, 2020, 02:59:49 PM
Hello,

I have created custom actions for the Input System.

(https://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=21797.0;attach=16453)

You can install these actions using this git address and the package manager:

(https://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=21797.0;attach=16455;image)
https://gitlab.com/toomasio/playmakerinputsystemactions.git

To update the package, delete the 'packages-lock.json' file in your UnityProject\Packages
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: Thore on March 13, 2020, 08:36:49 AM
Fantastic. Thanks for that!
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: Odd_But_Awesome on August 01, 2020, 05:25:51 AM
Hi Digitom,

Thanks for taking the time to make those actions.

I was wondering if you had the same experience as myself with the Read Bool Value while using a gamepad (I am using a Logitech F310). It seems to flicker true/false while the joystick is rotated around the extremeties of movement (Bool_Flicker.PNG). Pushing in one direction continuously is fine (the read is solid) but for example - going from full forwards and adding some turn to the sides it flickers all the while the stick is moving.

Cheers
JG

Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: Broken Stylus on August 03, 2020, 07:30:32 AM
Quote from: Odd_But_Awesome
I was wondering if you had the same experience as myself with the Read Bool Value while using a gamepad (I am using a Logitech F310). It seems to flicker true/false while the joystick is rotated around the extremeties of movement (Bool_Flicker.PNG). Pushing in one direction continuously is fine (the read is solid) but for example - going from full forwards and adding some turn to the sides it flickers all the while the stick is moving.

Is it flickering because of changes in the stick rotation only when pushed to the edge?
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: Odd_But_Awesome on August 04, 2020, 10:07:48 AM
It is flickering anytime the joystick (tried both L & R) is not at 0 and is moved around continuously. At 0 it reads a steady 'False' (as it should). Held at any direction at max I get a steady 'True' (as it should). But anytime the stick is in motion the flickering occurs. Like the rotating the stick in circles to all corners at full extents for calibration.

My character seems to be moving smoothly but that could be due to early stages, no optimisation required yet, its just a box. decent PC speed etc.


Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: Broken Stylus on August 05, 2020, 06:22:34 AM
Might be a sensitivity thingy.
If this doesn't affect the smoothness of the character, maybe it's not a big issue. If it returns and proves annoying during the beta, perhaps you will have to keep an eye on the stick's movement and angle manually, that is, ignore the flickering when you are above certain values and do the float comparisons yourself as a measure of precaution.
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: UEP on August 10, 2020, 02:59:14 AM
@Digitom Thank you so much for this. I'm getting the MVP done for a multiplayer RPG and I've wanted the ease of the new input system and Playmaker in one. I'm grateful you've done this and I hope you continue to develop these actions out in the future.
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: BlizStudio on September 13, 2020, 11:47:19 AM
@digitom dude this looks incredible!! Thanks for putting this together and posting for everyone.  Just getting started and this seems massively helpful for thinking about all different types of input devices.

You are awesome!
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: curb47 on September 21, 2020, 07:33:50 AM
I'm having some freezes and weird things happening using these FSMs.

One thing I really noticed, is the Vector2 values are instantly 1 or -1. In old input method, the Get Axis action had a really nice smooth ramp from 0 to 1/-1, which made for lovely smooth movement. I also miss the multiplier form the Get Axis, as it was so useful for adding forces etc.

Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: Thore on September 21, 2020, 11:53:02 AM
You should be able to return analog values, too, by going into the input asset (where you set everything up) and inspect the options under the vector2 binding.
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: colpolstudios on October 11, 2020, 09:01:55 AM
Hi there, I decided to use the unity new input system using the new actions.

Edit: just spotted the error with the W, A, S and D keys. it's an easy fix: 

The 3D SHMUP tutorial looked great but needed to be adjusted for the new input system.

Link to the tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxA0QncpT28 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxA0QncpT28)

The easiest instructions Re: The new input can be found here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRI44aYLDQs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRI44aYLDQs)

Here is a screenshot of my input: https://ibb.co/5LXmK7T (https://ibb.co/5LXmK7T)

Here are the actions in the FSM: https://ibb.co/rMJNHvD (https://ibb.co/rMJNHvD)

Notice I am using a custom action "CustomGetAxisVector" This action uses float values rather than Axis, with the added benefit of a handy multiplier.

However, the custom action seems unavailable within the Ecosystem.

Hope that this information proves to be helpful.

Regards, colpolstudios
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: colpolstudios on October 11, 2020, 04:44:33 PM
Hi, again I've been busy assigning new controls.

By just copying the 2d vector within the new unity inputs you can assign different varitions to the controler used.

I have playstation controller D-pad + left joystick and similar with a Xbox.

However I have ran into an issue when building to web GL.

I have attached the log info:

 
 


I have some unity errors when building to Web GL.

Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: colpolstudios on October 17, 2020, 02:41:56 PM
I tried to build again, but this time I removed the playmaker Wizard and the link file.

Still will not build.

I have sent an error report today.
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: Broken Stylus on November 17, 2020, 04:44:43 AM
I tried to build again, but this time I removed the playmaker Wizard and the link file.

Still will not build.

I have sent an error report today.

At the bottom of the log I see this:

Quote
UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow+BuildMethodException: 2 errors
  at UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow+DefaultBuildMethods.BuildPlayer (UnityEditor.BuildPlayerOptions options) [0x0027c] in <9ddd600ae5964fe0b21a870e08c53748>:0
  at UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow.CallBuildMethods (System.Boolean askForBuildLocation, UnityEditor.BuildOptions defaultBuildOptions) [0x00080] in <9ddd600ae5964fe0b21a870e08c53748>:0

Perhaps try a search on the web for this.
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: djaydino on November 17, 2020, 06:27:05 AM
hi.
This is the 1st error, try googling it :
compiler frontend failed to generate LLVM bitcode, halting

it seems to be a unity issue.
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: Broken Stylus on November 17, 2020, 09:59:56 AM
Are you using some 2020 beta?
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: colpolstudios on November 17, 2020, 01:00:51 PM
No, I am using the normal standard version.

But I have not on this project for some time.
Title: Re: Unity Input System [In Preview] Actions
Post by: Digitom on November 26, 2020, 08:22:41 AM
Hello everyone. Apologies for not updating this package in a while. I am currently transferring this to a "PackageManager" package that you can just install using the package manager. I have also improved this action set so you can use it with the player input component...making it compatible with the player manager. Will post by end of week. Thanks for your patience.
Title: Re: Input System Actions (Git Install)
Post by: Digitom on November 26, 2020, 09:59:32 AM
I have updated this package to a git install. You can install now using the package manager and this address: https://gitlab.com/toomasio/playmakerinputsystemactions.git
Title: Re: Input System Actions (Git Install)
Post by: djaydino on November 27, 2020, 04:08:34 AM
Hi.
I didn't know yet that you could do a git install.

Maybe the Ecosystem could be added with this as well as you probably can do this in code as well.

if so it could install the latest version of the Ecosystem automatically (with some confirm popups)

For the action package, maybe jean can give access to the Ecosystem Action github.

i will ping Jean to have a look :)
Title: Re: Input System Actions (Git Install)
Post by: Digitom on November 27, 2020, 07:21:47 AM
Hi.
I didn't know yet that you could do a git install.

Maybe the Ecosystem could be added with this as well as you probably can do this in code as well.

if so it could install the latest version of the Ecosystem automatically (with some confirm popups)

For the action package, maybe jean can give access to the Ecosystem Action github.

i will ping Jean to have a look :)

Yeah if they want to add these to the ecosystem I have no problem with that. I am currently migrating a bunch of tools, I have made for educational purposes, to separate packages on my gitlab for free. It's just easier for me to update things this way vs doing it through the custom actions repo. I plan on adding more of the neat API functions from the input system showcased here:
Title: Re: Input System Actions (Git Install)
Post by: Digitom on November 27, 2020, 10:44:12 AM
Update Nov 27, 2020: Base systems cleanup. Added Enable/Disable actions for maps and actions. Added a rebind action.
Title: Re: Input System Actions (Git Install)
Post by: colpolstudios on November 28, 2020, 02:17:40 PM
Hello, I am unsure how to install it.

Could you possibly give some instructions, please?

Oh, whats the oldest version of unity that supports the new input system?

It was on preview in older versions of Unity, but possibly those versions do not work with your package?