Playmaker Forum

Bug Reporting => PlayMaker Bug Reporting => Topic started by: Slater on March 06, 2013, 10:20:17 AM

Title: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Slater on March 06, 2013, 10:20:17 AM
So a lot of stuff stopped working in my app for iOS after I updated to latest Playmaker. It needs me to put in a lot of waits in order for it to play nice. As far as I understand it it will be fixed in 1.5.4? Do we have an ETA for 1.5.4?
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Alex Chouls on March 06, 2013, 10:26:57 AM
1.5.4 is in the Asset Store now. It will be updates in our store today...
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Slater on March 06, 2013, 10:28:43 AM
Great! And it solves the time problem?
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Alex Chouls on March 06, 2013, 10:35:43 AM
I'm not sure what the time problem is... I'd need an example.

What was the last version you used?

1.5 changed some FSM startup behavior so events sent in the Start state to other FSMs were more reliably handled. Not sure if that change is related to your issue...?
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Lane on March 06, 2013, 12:55:21 PM
It is probably due to some events running or executing faster/slower due to optimization in the patch and it's causing your FSM's to act differently and out of order if you're collaborating several FSM's you can run into that, I have noticed it but haven't noticed a change from versions since I usually add waits or other dependencies to control the order of things being fired to avoid end user performance creating glitches.
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Slater on March 06, 2013, 04:10:29 PM
I've updated to the latest now but it didn't change the thing with time for me. So in one scene I have an FSM that checks a global variable for player prefs key. That is what it starts with. It checks for language in player prefs then I have it go either Swedish or english as next state. I then have it "split text to array list" and then in next state it prints gui text.
In order to get it to work in iOS I need to put in a wait as start state otherwise it "doesn't have time enough" to play nice with the FSM. 

I have to do this in several places and FSMs in order for them to work. I didn't have to do that before 1.5.
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Alex Chouls on March 06, 2013, 04:35:39 PM
Where do you have to put the wait? Before the Get Player Pref? Or after?

Can you post a screenshot?
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Slater on March 06, 2013, 05:02:18 PM
I had to add it at the beginning of the FSM. I have had to do that in other scenes/fsms as well. It works without it when I testplay it within Unity, but when I have built it to iPad/iPhone it doesn't work, there it needs wait added.

See screenshot.
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Alex Chouls on March 06, 2013, 05:38:58 PM
Interesting. I'm not sure what's behaving differently on iOS... I'll look into it...

Does it work if you use a Next Frame Event instead of Wait? That is generally a better idea than an arbitrary Wait...

Also, are you loading the level? Or is it the start level?


Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Slater on March 06, 2013, 06:16:04 PM
Yes it works if I put in Next Frame Event instead of wait.

It is not the start level, it is the thank you page and gets loaded in.

I also got the problem in other scenes. In one scene I have 3 FSMs/objects that work are identical. When I activate one of them it deactivates the others. All worked great until 1.5. After 1.5 when I activated and deactivated the same FSM, no problem. But when I activated 1 and then activated the other and that one deactivates the first, I got weird problems. In order to get them all to play nice, I had to add wait of 0.1 as start state in all 3 FSMs. Now they work without problem.
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: Slater on March 14, 2013, 06:53:25 PM
Have you found out anything about this problem?
Title: Re: Having time problems in 1.5.3. ETA 1.5.4?
Post by: digimbyte on March 15, 2013, 11:05:33 PM
I'm getting some really weird behavior...
i've been bug testing and redesigning this door and for some reason one of the triggers with a game object variable in the inspector changed from its defined target to send its bool too, changed its target to the player (Player_FPS)

I'm not sure if this is simply an update ghost issue and not a bug, but it definitely made me double check everything

I'm also noticing that game objects in variables changed the underscore to a space which may cause some issues, not sure