playMaker

Author Topic: Mouse Pick Event equivalent for Gamepad? [SOLVED]  (Read 2242 times)

Beefdoctor

• Playmaker Newbie
Mouse Pick Event equivalent for Gamepad? [SOLVED]
« on: June 17, 2015, 05:19:49 AM »
Hi! I am a 3D graphic artist of 5 years and have just started looking into game development, i'm a total noob so please be gentle.

I've setup an FSM on a door which has a start state with a Mouse Pick Event on it, it has a ray distance of one so you have to be close enough to the door to open it, and the Mouse down triggers the next state which is an I Tween Rotate to which opens the door. This is done in reverse to close the door.

When i run the game everything works as expected when i use a mouse but if i use a gamepad, Nothing. I gather this is because Mouse pick event is looking for a mouse click, so my question, can i do the same thing for a gamepad button press?

cheers  :D
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 06:50:41 AM by Beefdoctor »

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
Re: Mouse Pick Event equivalent for Gamepad?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2015, 05:53:33 AM »
check get key actions

they have joystick buttons you can select.

i don't know what is you setup,
but if you have a "player going to the door" you might have to set a trigger box in front of the door, so when you are inside that trigger box when you press the gamepad button the door will open.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 06:16:36 AM by djaydino »

Beefdoctor

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2015, 06:18:55 AM »
I was hoping to use something similar to Mouse pick event because it uses a ray (and ray distance), mainly because the button i'm going to use to open doors will do other stuff too, like an 'Action' button , so say i press that button to pick up an item and i'm inside the trigger box for a door, the door will open along with picking up the item, and that's not what i want. Any thoughts?

cheers
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 06:35:36 AM by Beefdoctor »

djaydino

• Administrator