playMaker

Author Topic: Global Transitions [SOLVED]  (Read 10414 times)

LuminRabbit

• Lumin Rabbit
Global Transitions [SOLVED]
« on: February 01, 2012, 11:02:23 PM »
How is everyone this evening? hope all is well :)

Global Transitions:
What are they and how would I use them?

Also I figured out how to create them (right click on a new transition) but I dont know how to name them yet? (sorry noob here) Im just getting 3 little dots.

I've watched the Animation Graphs tutorial part 2 (http://www.screencast.com/users/HutongGames/folders/PlayMaker/media/2fcbd7b0-2a56-4fd2-948b-5bd23e3adbd5) and can see its getting the animation states from the speed but I dont understand how the animation states know to be played.

I think I'll have to go back and see how their set up again, to see how their being called or hooked up :) I'll still take any input on the subject though.

I just found this post which has some good insight as well http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=176.0 which gives me a little more insight.

Thanks in Advance!
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 01:32:38 AM by Alex Chouls »
Have I said how much I love playmaker!!! This is one amazing tool

LuminRabbit

• Lumin Rabbit
Re: Global Transitions
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2012, 08:34:57 PM »
Ok, the Global Transition.

If I create an Event then right click on the global transition I created I can select the Event and presto the global transition has my events name instead of 3 little dots :)
Have I said how much I love playmaker!!! This is one amazing tool

qholmes

• 1.2 Beta
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2012, 09:12:26 PM »
You are on the right track then... you have to make a transition on a State and then set it to an Event.. If the event is a normal local event then you can call it from another state locally... I try not to do that anymore as it makes the flow a little difficult to read.... i used to do it a lot but have stopped..