playMaker

Author Topic: How to make object trigger SetPosition to specific coördinates?  (Read 4631 times)

ginoadriano

• Playmaker Newbie
Hello, i'm fairly new to using playmaker and got around some of the basic functions by following tutorials. However, i'm not sure how to achieve what i'm trying to do here and which steps to take.

I'm building a sort of puzzle-game where the user needs to find a certain object in a room. (player needs to do this from a fixed position and can only look around, so no walking involved)
Once the player has found the object, i want the Firstperson-controller to send a raycast to the object.
The raycast needs to trigger a teleportation to the next room. (ideally specific coördinates which i can input manually).

The goal is to visit multible rooms in a single level through different objects, each triggering their own set of coördinates onto which the player is being teleported.

Also i want the teleport to have a 2 second delay so the player has time to look away, to not have the object found being too obvious and giving the user a chance at second guessing.

At the moment i have one object in my level, one FPS controller sending a raycast(state 1, event:hit), and the "Setposition" action is set to State 2, player teleports to value X = 20. (by looking at a sphere)

ginoadriano

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: How to make object trigger SetPosition to specific coördinates?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2015, 02:38:43 PM »
Anyone?

terri

• terrivellmann.tumblr.com
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2015, 08:42:01 PM »
what part are you having trouble with?

ginoadriano

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2015, 02:41:10 PM »
Well i'm not sure if i'm approaching this the right way.
All of my states are now coupled to my FPS controller.

My goal is to have a game with like 12 rooms,
each room has one object which ,on discovery, should trigger a
2 sec delay/countdown and then teleport player to coordinates.