playMaker

Author Topic: Help Needed: Physics Based Platformer  (Read 2230 times)

JD

• Playmaker Newbie
Help Needed: Physics Based Platformer
« on: August 31, 2015, 07:31:20 PM »
Hello,

Thanks in advance for taking the time to read my question!  I'm trying to create a physics based platformer and I've run into a bit of a problem with character control.  My apologies, I'm very new to Unity and Playmaker so please bare with me.  The character control scheme that I've envisioned is as follows:

• Left mouse click: charge jump
  • Release left mouse: Jump
  • Arrow Keys: moves character on the x and z axis (character can only move on the x and z in the air/mid jump)

I'm using an "add force" on the Y axis for the jumping action which activates upon left mouse button release.  I need some way to move the character around in the air (x and z axis) only if the jump has been initiated. 

I've tried to use "Get Axis Vector" and "Controller Simple Move" but this doesn't work.  In this situation the character gets grounded as soon as jump is released.

I've also tried using an "Axis Event" along with "Add Force" upon mouse button release.  This gives me something in the ballpark of what I'm intending but it doesn't give me the precision that I'm looking for. 

I want to be able to hold the arrow for a sustained move or tap it for a precision move.  I'd like to be able to terminate my left input with a right input.  Basically I'm looking for standard 3rd person controls when (and only when) my character is in the air.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.  Many many thanks!
« Last Edit: September 02, 2015, 12:21:23 PM by JD »

Grendal

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: Help Needed: Physics Based Platformer
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2015, 09:50:04 PM »
I am assuming you have a controller component on your player.. use the action "Controller is Grounded"
Tests if a Character Controller on a Game Object was touching the ground during the last move.