playMaker

Author Topic: Implementing Movement Between Points on an Array [SOLVED]  (Read 6302 times)

Stinkhorse

• Playmaker Newbie
Implementing Movement Between Points on an Array [SOLVED]
« on: January 09, 2016, 12:34:35 AM »
Hi there, I'm a little nervous to ask this because it seems like it should be pretty basic, but I'm having some trouble understanding how to set up an array, create a position variable from its various contents, and then use that information to move a player between the set positions on a button press.

I'm very new at this, I  started using Unity a few weeks ago and I was so bad at understanding the syntax and calls for scripting that I opted into playmaker. All of that might have been a foolish decision but in for a penny, in for a pound.

I've attached a picture of what I'm trying to build for reference. Each of the tiles would be a spot the player can move to and they would move one space per button press.

Feel free to give me an explanation that's as ground level basics as you like because my level of understanding is poor enough that reading the manual for Playmaker is a bit greek.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2016, 01:36:46 AM by Stinkhorse »

mdotstrange

• Can't code? Who cares! Make games anyway!
Re: Implementing Movement Between Points on an Array
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2016, 01:44:21 AM »
Not sure I totally understand the question but to store positions in an array you would create an array and add Vector3 variables to it to store the positional data.

When it comes to moving the player to one of the positions there's several ways you could do that depending on what kind of controls you want-

You could make the player a navmesh agent and use that position as a destination for the agent-

You could use the itween move actions to move the player to the position

You could add force to the player in the direction of the position

You could use a controller move action to move the player if it has a character controller-