playMaker

Author Topic: State with 520 events  (Read 2037 times)

Tonda

• Playmaker Newbie
State with 520 events
« on: February 13, 2016, 03:48:12 AM »
I am contemplating setting up 3 states each with 520 events of which only 3 will fire...

Before I spend the hours setting this up, are there any issues (other than inefficiency) that I could run into that could effect performance etc. (or an event limit I am unaware of?)

Reef

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: State with 520 events
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2016, 04:56:08 AM »
Hi, Just a curious noob here, with no answer to your question- just one of my own.

As I understand it:
You are making a state with 520 transition events below it, but only 3 of the events have arrows to other states?

Maybe I misunderstood your post. As Im just wondering why would having events that do not transition to other states be useful to you (or generally in playmaker)?

I am a noob but so far I do not understand them being used in such a way and was wondering if you could enlighten me.

Thank you and I hope an expert comes along soon, who knows all about optimization and has a good answer to your issue.

Tonda

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2016, 06:42:53 AM »
Im new too, so i may have worried it wrong. 3 states have 520 events leading to 520 different states, but I only meant that the FSM would only be running 3 of the 1560 possible states from these.

mdotstrange

• Can't code? Who cares! Make games anyway!
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2016, 07:34:12 AM »
I've never seen any performance hits because of the number of events- but before you spend hours setting up 500+ events you might want to research to find a different way to do it-

What are you trying to do wherein you need 500+ events? There must be a smarter way to do it-
Indie game dev and instructor at the Strange School. Learn Playmaker at the Strange School!

Tonda

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2016, 04:10:27 PM »