playMaker

Author Topic: Runner Game - spawning objects  (Read 4948 times)

elijah123

• Playmaker Newbie
Runner Game - spawning objects
« on: February 29, 2016, 04:16:27 AM »
Hi,
I was wondering if something was possible with playmaker and if anyone could point me in the right direction if yes...

I know it is best practice to try and figure something out first but i really have no idea where to begin.

I am doing an endless runner game and i want to have platforms and other objects in the scene to come in to view then go away once out of view.

I tried looking up code tutorials on endless runners but couldn't find one that covered more than just platforms spawning...I'm new to coding so i thought i'd try it in Playmaker. I am after having platforms spawn but also other objects like collectables above the platforms or obstacles...I thought that maybe if i had multiple scenes and just had them display at random but maybe that is a bad idea.

mdotstrange

• Can't code? Who cares! Make games anyway!
Re: Runner Game - spawning objects
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2016, 07:32:47 AM »
The "create object" action creates objects which does the same as "spawning" but a lot of the time when the words "Spawn" and "Despawn" are used- it refers to the use of a pooling system- which is a more efficient way of adding and removing objects from a scene-

You can create your own pooling/spawn/despawn system with Playmaker but you are better off just buying PoolManager- it has easy to use Playmaker actions and is rock solid-

So you can use the "create object" action to spawn things and the "destroy object" to despawn them BUT if you want the real thing and the performance benefits that come along with it get a pooling system-
Indie game dev and instructor at the Strange School. Learn Playmaker at the Strange School!

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2016, 07:40:59 AM »
Hi,
Yes, i think multiple scenes is a bad idea for a endless runner.