playMaker

Author Topic: Am I doing this right?  (Read 5717 times)

ruairiau

• Playmaker Newbie
Am I doing this right?
« on: March 30, 2016, 09:55:51 PM »
Hi everyone,
I'm a seasoned developer but I'm new to games development. Initially I was scripting everything which was fun, but after seeing some videos on Playmaker I was quickly sold on its ability for rapid design and development - I'm now just trying to wrap my brain around understanding everything within the context of a state machine and when best to use them over scripting.

I'm making a simple dungeon crawler and putting together some basic melee combat. I'm trying to work out what my options are for notifying enemies when my character swings his sword.
I've seen posts/tutorials that discuss using a box collider as a trigger and putting it around the sword; however my character only has a little sword (which he's very proud of) and the animation doesn't swing very far out, so collision might be hit or miss literally - an option might be to extend the collider to be larger than the sword. I've seen others talk about raytracing, but this looks a little complicated.

What I've settle on for now is putting a box collider trigger slightly infront of my character, then I use an FSM to add or remove gameobjects which have an 'Attackable' tag to an array as they enter or exit the box collider trigger. Then when I attack, the FSM loops through each game object in the array and sends an Attacked event. Is this a terrible idea? Am I doing this all completely wrong?

mdotstrange

• Can't code? Who cares! Make games anyway!
Re: Am I doing this right?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2016, 11:21:47 PM »
If it works for you it works  :)