playMaker

Author Topic: [Solved] I need a sound to loop AND be able to adjust its volume.  (Read 3134 times)

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
[Edit - please skip all the way down to the next post.  I rewrote my question to be more clear.  Thank you.]

I am trying to adjust the volume of a looping audio clip during the game.  I think I'm doing things correctly... but it is not working.  Maybe I am overlooking something?  Here is how I set it up:

I have a game object, called MusicPlayer, with an audio source.  It has the following actions:
1) Set Audio Clip
2) Set Audio Loop (I have loop checked)
3) Audio Play (Game Object is Owner), Volume is 1

A different FSM sends the following:
4.) Set Audio Volume (I specify game object as MusicPlayer)

No matter what I set the Set Audio Volume at... it has no effect.  It continues to play and loop at full volume.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Thank you,
createasaurus

[Update]  When I use "one shot play" within Audio Play, it works... but, I need it to loop... so I don't think I can use one shot?  The funny thing is, when I read the program notes in Audio Play, it says that volume cannot be adjusted when using one shot.  However, the exact opposite seems to be happening to me. I am able to adjust volume with one shot, yet I am not able to adjust volume with standard Audio Play.  Thoughts?  Thank you.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2015, 12:00:39 PM by createasaurus »

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Set Audio Volume - I can't get it to work.
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2015, 03:58:02 AM »
OK, I'm rewriting my original question here to be more clear.

I need to have a looping sound that I can adjust the volume of.  However...

When I use Audio Play / One Shot Clip... I can adjust volume, but no looping.
When I use Set Audio Clip, Audio Play... I can loop, but not adjust volume.

Please advise on how to have a sound that I can both loop and adjust volume of.

Thank you!
« Last Edit: May 13, 2015, 12:06:43 PM by createasaurus »

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Respectfully, I need to bump this.  Please understand.  Thank you.

Bottom line: I need a sound to loop AND be able to adjust its volume.  Can this be done?

With appreciation and gratefulness,
Thank you,
createasaurus

600

  • Beta Group
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 715
    • Flashing Lights
Hi,

had some troubles with this too,
here is basic setup on empty game object, see attached image.
When in Game mode, use volume slider to test it.


createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
THANK YOU 600!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It works!!!  It works!!!  Ahhh days of going around in circles...

It was your picture... I saw you had every frame checked! I was not doing this.  My project was set up to leave the Set Volume state immediately.  I've now rewritten it to have a state just sit there repeatedly executing the current volume level.

This was counter intuitive to me to need every frame... so I may not have found it otherwise.

Thank you again!
createaseurus

tyrot

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: [Solved] I need a sound to loop AND be able to adjust its volume.
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2016, 02:13:31 PM »
sometimes a PNG saves you from insanity (even after 1 year) .. thanks 600 !