playMaker

Author Topic: Can't get the movement of my characters to run perfectly smooth!  (Read 2668 times)

zackspak

• Playmaker Newbie
Hey everybody! Still a bit new to all of this, but I've been working on my first game for a few months. I keep having one main issue with my game (it is a simple game where guys and meteors run across the stage and you need to hit all the meteors but not the guys).

I simply cant get all of my characters, especially the meteors, to run perfectly smooth. The choppiness isn't too overwhelming, but they do kind of get jittery for moments and it affects gameplay a little bit. I JUST WANT IT SMOOTH. Lol.

The issue used to be worse, but once I put in a TargetFrameRate (60) action, the whole thing got a lot smoother. At first I thought this completely cleared it up, but nope. Still getting the jitters. Is there anything I can do?? I've spent countless hours trying to fix the darn thing. Once I get it to run smooth, I can move on to adding more characters and features, which is all I want to do =)
This is running on an ipad btw.

Here's a quick video of what im talking about:

https://vid.me/diwc

Thanks in advance for any help!!
« Last Edit: January 17, 2017, 03:44:54 PM by zackspak »

kavery

Re: Can't get the movement of my characters to run perfectly smooth!
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2017, 11:08:43 AM »
Hilarious game BTW.. I dunno, looks kinda smooth to me? Maybe you're discerning too hard? Maybe playing with timestep.

zackspak

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2017, 07:57:17 PM »
Thanks kavery, glad you like the game!

I will play around with timestep. Thanks for the help. Also, I have had the thought that maybe I am just discerning too hard, lol. I just want it to be perfect =(. Like I said, it doesn't affect the game play too bad so maybe it's just something I'll have to deal with. I'll let you know if timestep helps at all. Thanks!

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support