playMaker

Author Topic: Dragging and rotating Game Objects with mouse  (Read 9756 times)

Destide

• Playmaker Newbie
Dragging and rotating Game Objects with mouse
« on: March 02, 2012, 04:42:48 PM »
Hi, I'm currently making a 2d game and have hit a snag.I'm a total noob with Unity and  I can't figure out how to manipulate game objects in this case platforms with the mouse. I want to enable the player to move the platforms around to solve the puzzles of the game. Hopefully I've descrbed my problem well enough.

Thanks in advance

Alex Chouls

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • LinkedIn
Re: Dragging and rotating Game Objects with mouse
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2012, 05:03:19 PM »
You can get mouse movement using Get Axis or Get Axis Vector with "Mouse X" and "Mouse Y" as the axis names.

Then you can translate the platforms using Translate actions.

Take a look at PlaymakerSamples/TestLab/Input/GetAxis and GetAxisVector samples.

Also look at MouseClickToDrag.

If you need to select a platform before dragging it, you can make a small FSM on the platform with an Idle state that waits for MOUSE DOWN to enter a BeingDragged state, and goes back to idle on MOUSE UP. BeingDragged then handles the mouse input described above.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2012, 05:06:55 PM by Alex Chouls »

Destide

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2012, 06:23:13 PM »
Awesome thanks for setting me off in the right direction I'll play about and hopefully can nail it. Thanks again for your help

Destide

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2012, 06:52:32 PM »
Excellent so I got it working

I added a new FSM to my platform
Added two Get axis actions to it Named them Mouse X and Mouse Y, I then made float vairbles of the same names to store the values.
Then created a translate action using owner as the game object and Mouse X and Y as the values with space set to world.