playMaker

Author Topic: Canvas Button and GUI Button  (Read 10336 times)

kentcheung2000

• Playmaker Newbie
Canvas Button and GUI Button
« on: May 13, 2018, 02:21:08 AM »
Hi,

I am new to playmaker and unity.  I want to create a button for touch screen game.  Do I use GUI buttons or Canvas button?  Are they similar or have difference?

Thanks.

KC

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
Re: Canvas Button and GUI Button
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2018, 09:24:48 AM »
Hi,
Gui Buttons are outdated, you should use Canvas buttons.

to send an event with the button : press + in the On Click () section
Then under 'runtime Only' drop in the gameobject with the fsm.
(warning! if there are multiple fsms on an object you need to move the fsm with the event above all the other fsms in the inspector)
Then on 'No Function' select "PlayMakerFsm/SendEvent (string)"
Then in the field below, place the event name that you wish to trigger.

if you need multiple fsms to have a button connected on the same object,
Then its better to use some actions or playMaker Event Proxy Component

You can get ugui action on the Ecosystem (search for : ugui proxy full)

OR

You can wait for the Playmaker 1.9 version (which should be released any time now) which includes ui actions.

Broken Stylus

• Beta Group
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2018, 06:12:01 PM »
I use the Event Trigger component, it's very fast and does wonders, although like all components that use references, it will detect only one FSM per game object (I haven't been able to send an event to several FSMs at once on a single targeted game object).
This component allows for much more control than being limited to just onClick.

uGUI is a good system, the canvas scaling system is fantastic, but if you plan on animating stuff, it's more complicated...

verybinary

• Junior Playmaker
    • The Museum of Digital
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2018, 04:42:43 PM »
Are you using the send event thing in the inspector option for the button?
try this