playMaker

Author Topic: NavMesh/NavMeshAgent  (Read 4508 times)

johnflesh

• Playmaker Newbie
NavMesh/NavMeshAgent
« on: August 23, 2015, 04:48:56 PM »
Hello,

I'm a long time playmaker user but an absolute beginner using NavMesh and NavMeshAgents, Pathing in Unity 5. I downloaded the additional NavMesh/Agent actions for Playmaker and have had some success but I'm somewhat at a breakpoint and can't seem to move past it. Also, I'm an artist who use Playmaker for minor scripting, I'm not a scripter/programmer by any means so please excuse my ignorance.

What I'd like to do is have an Agent move towards a goal, however the goal may or may not be blocked from that Agent. The Agent needs to make decisions dynamically based on that. If the goal is not blocked, move to goal. If the goal is blocked, find closest tag "breakable" and destroy it, continue on path to goal.

Ultimately, I can achieve the above, however, every Action I use to check if the path is clear always produces a True. I need it to see that the path is blocked and produce a False - or True if the path is not blocked.

I've tried 'NavMesh Calculate Path Between Game Objects' which produces a True stored value regardless of whether the Agent is blocked or not.

I've tried 'AgentSamplePathPosition' as well but it produces a False stored value regardless of whether the Agent is blocked or not.

I've also tried 'AgentRayCast' and it always produces a True regardless of whether the Agent can actually see the goal from it's start position.

Now this may simply be an oversight on my part with my novice/beginner understanding of how NavMesh/Agent work within Unity5. I have been doing a lot of reading on the U5 Manual and Reference and while I have learned a bundle and it has gotten me this far, I'm somewhat at a loss.

TLDR; What action helps to check if a path is blocked (or not) on a NavMesh between Agent and goal, and produces True/False depending on the result?