playMaker

Author Topic: Start an external .EXE application, or use the command prompt  (Read 2114 times)

AndroYD

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Start an external .EXE application, or use the command prompt
« on: August 05, 2018, 09:54:25 PM »
Hello PlayMakers,
I was surprised that such a common request wasn't available in the Ecosystem Browser, in the Unity forums this has been answered multiple times, but nothing that works out of the box with Playmaker.
Can anyone please make a Playmaker Action for it?
I need to run an external program from it (ie. "C:\Windows\System32\calc.exe"), even better if you can define command line arguments (ie. "Unity.exe -force-opengl")
Any help is much appreciated, thanks!

Ateam

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
Re: Start an external .EXE application, or use the command prompt
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2018, 12:09:09 AM »
Hi I made this, it work but you need to do some things.

-The action run the Run.bat, you need to copy that bat inside the data folder in your game folder.

-Edit the Run.bat and add your application path, and them you can add some line arguments.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2018, 02:38:54 AM by Ateam »

AndroYD

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Start an external .EXE application, or use the command prompt
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2018, 12:11:35 AM »
Wow, that was so fast! :O
Thanks so much for making this, I'm going to test it now!

markettounity

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Start an external .EXE application, or use the command prompt
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2021, 10:45:34 AM »
hello guys and sorry for re-open this thread.
first of all , i'm Italian, so i'm very sorry for my english ...

Im new on Unity and i want to use playmaker to ralize my idea :

I've made a 3D gameroom, with 3D R-type arcade cabinet inside.
So i want that when my player touch the cabinet, the Unity "frontend" go on pause and start RETROARCH with the game.

Then, when i close the emulator, i want to return in the unity and unpause the frontend , so i can choose another cabinet/games and so on ...

I'm ok with the player control, the trigger on the cabinet is working and the file BAT that contains the retroarch exe + the arguments is ready.

so my question is : Which actions i have to use on PLAYMAKER to load the BAT file when i enter the trigger ????
and how can make possible that the frontend pause while i'm in Retroarch and then resume ??

thank you very much for your cooperation !  :D

ViRiX Dreamcore

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Start an external .EXE application, or use the command prompt
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2022, 07:39:57 PM »
UPDATE:

I've changed the file path into a variable so that the user can set exactly what they'd like to run within PlayMaker.

This can be useful when you want to run various things and need multiple copies of this action.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7086
    • jinxtergames
Re: Start an external .EXE application, or use the command prompt
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2022, 05:41:02 AM »
hi.
Thx for sharing