playMaker

Author Topic: How to make a Jump Pad  (Read 1851 times)

rlhalh

• Playmaker Newbie
How to make a Jump Pad
« on: October 30, 2018, 02:30:50 PM »
Hello all, I'm new with Playmaker and am attempting to make a pad that, when your player collides with it, will thrust you up. I have followed some tutorials about moving platforms and feel confident about setting Triggered Events properly, but I cannot get either Set Velocity or Add Force to work for me as the next action following the initial collision action event. I am using the character collider provided with the Unity character controller and, as mentioned, it work just fine with moving platforms.

Does anyone have any experience with jump pads? If so, could you give me a brief outline as to how to implement them for use with a player in a scene? Thanks.

Thore

Re: How to make a Jump Pad
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2018, 02:52:08 PM »
You could use physics materials and turn the bounciness up, this would however usually require that the character jumps on it. Right-click in project, create physics material, set values and then add it to the rigidbody (I believe).

Other than that, you may try a simpler setup first, to remove potential pitfalls. First get the trigger itself to work, i.e. you must set the collider to trigger, and use the correct actions, as well as correct components: rigidbody, colliders, and playmaker actions. If you use 2D, then all of these in their 2D versions, else, the standard ones (Unity was originally 3D only).

Next, remove a bit of complication and make a simple FSM and attach to player. First state listen to a key, get key down (tip as usual: in a real setup, you typically want to use button actions instead of keys, because they can be configured in input manager, but key down etc is good for initial setup and testing, as a kind of scaffolding). When the key is pressed, apply velocity upwards. Again, watch out, if you work in 2D, you need velocity2D and corresponding components.