playMaker

Author Topic: units attack each other / strategy game [SOLVED]  (Read 1761 times)

Nietzsche

• Playmaker Newbie
units attack each other / strategy game [SOLVED]
« on: August 31, 2019, 12:28:05 PM »
I am sorry for asking so much, but I am pretty new to the whole substance of programming. So please forgive me for asking a bit more questions.

I am working on a small round based, hextile based game where units should be able to shoot at each other. I have just no idea how the shooting should be managed.

How can I make objects detect each other?
How can I make them shoot one annother? I would like to make a unit directly detect it's enemy and then hit it with a 100% chance. The projectile should also ignore anything in its path.

Sorry for the long post and thank you for your help.
If you know any good tutorials or guides on this subject please don't hesitate to tell me.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2019, 10:55:16 AM by Nietzsche »

Athin

Re: units attack each other / strategy game
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2019, 10:58:58 PM »
Heya,

So this is a really broad question which is very situational depending on the project.  Is the shooting just a % chance (Similar to Xcom Style games) or is it actually manually aimed as a FPS?  Does the unit have range or need a clean line of sight to attack?  There is a lot here to digest and not one simple post will be able to solve it. 

I'd suggest you break down the problem into steps and solve them in little chunks. 

Nietzsche

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2019, 12:49:38 AM »
sure, sorry for not breaking it down earlier.

- line of sight should not affect the shooting
- units have a fixed range
- hitting should be a %-chance (dependend on precision, unit movement, etc.)

Thank you for your suggestion, in the meanwhile I already solved how to do the shooting at oneanother.

daniellogin

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2019, 04:34:23 AM »