playMaker

Author Topic: ArrayList send Event To Game Objects Rejects Events  (Read 1795 times)

Macol90

• Playmaker Newbie
ArrayList send Event To Game Objects Rejects Events
« on: March 18, 2019, 11:33:01 AM »
"ArrayList send Event To Game Objects" rejects events unless they are assigned to the State the Action resides in. Doesn't matter if the event is global or used a dozen times in the FSM, "send Event" refuses to work.  ???

This is a problem because I need to be able to track down where Events are being used. Right now if I switch "RESET" to "UI RESET" in the Array's objects I have to track down the "Send Event by Name" Actions, and with a big project this can be a big pain in the butt!   >:(

In the last year and a half I've googled this issue at least a half dozen times, hoping someone would fix it, or maybe suggest solutions. The two or three threads I've found say it's fixed or seem to trail off... Please fix this!

I'm still learning so if there is an easy solution or I'm doing something wrong, I'm sorry, but as my mangled, bloated mess of a project gets bigger so does this problem.

Thank you for your help in advance!   ;D ;D ;D

Doh

Re: ArrayList send Event To Game Objects Rejects Events
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2019, 11:46:34 AM »
Under the events tab, have you checked the box that turns the event into a global event?

Macol90

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2019, 12:01:21 PM »
Yep, I've tried several events, basically all the ones in my FSM and a couple Global ones. I've also tried checking and unchecking the check boxes in the Action. The only Events that work are the ones assigned to the State it's in.

I'm pretty familiar with ArrayMaker. I duplicate a lot of objects with random Variables, all of which are in arrays. A couple other Actions have given me weird issues but I've been able to work them out or find a work around.

This Action though! So useful! Yet soooo frustrating!  :)

Doh

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2019, 03:01:53 PM »