playMaker

Author Topic: Photon Network delay problem  (Read 2450 times)

NewTo

• Playmaker Newbie
Photon Network delay problem
« on: April 08, 2019, 07:04:10 AM »
Hello,

I would need some help with my game, Im using playmaker and Photon network.
Im a total noob and I have no knowledge about coding, as you will notice Im not an expert at english too ... ^^
I uploaded 2 videos in case Im do not give clear explanations.

So, Im trying to make something like chuchu rocket. The game takes place on a checkerboard, some game objects move from the center of a tile to the center of another tile in a straight line.
Players can put arrows on the board to interact with the moving objects and change the path they take.
Each players can put 3 arrows on the field and they "fight" to bring the more game objects they can to a certain point. It will give them points but in the current state the game is unfair due to the one sided delay.

Lets call the players blue one and green one because of they put blue/green arrows.
They both connect to photon network.

When Green one puts an arrow on the field there is a little delay due to the ping and all that.
Also the game objects are a bit delayed on his screen.
My problem is linked to the delay, it seems to be too much on the green side. When Green one puts an arrow on the field at the last moment 4 game objects will go thro the green arrows which feels very bad.

When blue one puts an arrow on the field everything is instant, it's like he has 0ms delay, in fact he has 60ms with the server just like green one.
No moving object go thro any of the blue arrows, the interaction is always perfect just like in a solo game.
Blue one is the one that spawns the board and the moving game objects.

You can see all that in the videos.
Blue one has no delay, green one has all the delay.

What I would like is to have less moving objects able to go thro the green arrows but I do not know what to do, something like sharing the delay.