playMaker

Author Topic: Create or activate game object when spawning, which is best?  (Read 1166 times)

Maddy

• Playmaker Newbie
I have a menu page with levels and a "Complete Level Image" for each completed level. Which is best...

1. Have the Completed Images be activated at runtime and have them activate every frame? The images are deactivated at the start and checked if there are enough points for each level, if there are enough points, then the image is activated.

or 2. Create each Completed Image at runtime if there are enough points?

2D mobile game.

Thanks in advance!
I'm an artist with poor memory and brain fog trying to make a game. Please wish me luck! :-D

Neikke

Re: Create or activate game object when spawning, which is best?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2019, 01:33:07 PM »
Creating objects is very performance heavy and usually not recommended especially for mobile platforms. Activating/deactivating in my opinion would be best.

Thore

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2019, 02:58:07 AM »
It probably won’t matter whether you pool or create/destroy in this case, but of course it all adds up. I’d be more concerned with the “every frame”, because it doesn’t seem like you need it. You can update the UI when opening the menu.

If you need to update the UI more often, consider how twitchy it really has to be. Menus can probably update once a second, and nobody notices it. If it needs to be more responsive, you can go to 0.2 which is on the threshold of perception. Higher values are needed for action-driven gameplay, where frames matter because you directly feel the consequences.

Maddy

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2019, 05:26:36 AM »
Thanks Neikke and Thore!

@Thore, I've set it to Every Frame in the check box, otherwise it won't show. The reason I was wondering if it would be better to use Create Object, was just the updating every frame.

You wrote: "You can update the UI when opening the menu." How do you mean specifically?