playMaker

Author Topic: BUG? Apply prefab, drag applied prefab to scene = They are different  (Read 688 times)

miguelfanclub

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
This is really scary.

Prefab I apply:

When I drag to the scene the applied prefab:

Get Fsm Bool changes magically "LEVEL INFO" for "lifebar"

« Last Edit: September 26, 2019, 03:52:32 PM by miguelfanclub »

Broken Stylus

  • Beta Group
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 633
    • View Profile
Re: BUG? Apply prefab, drag applied prefab to scene = They are different
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2019, 07:33:37 AM »
The picture 2 is your instance?

miguelfanclub

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Re: BUG? Apply prefab, drag applied prefab to scene = They are different
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2019, 11:46:19 AM »
Yep

Padenlee

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • You can't hit what you don't shoot for!
    • View Profile
Re: BUG? Apply prefab, drag applied prefab to scene = They are different
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2019, 03:17:38 PM »
I find that I have to save the scene when editing prefabs with FMS's to have some changes take effect at times (No reason/pattern I can detect except it only seems to take effect on "older" prefabs, ones that have been reworked/edited a few times). I have a habit of always Ctl-S'ing before running my games to make sure changes take effect. I find that the actions with XML Datamaker are notorious for not having their prefab values keep unless I save after changing.
-Paden Pierry
@padenpierry
Apple inc.'s first TV show, EP 1.
Game Dev since 2007
Coolest client: Bridgestone

Broken Stylus

  • Beta Group
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 633
    • View Profile
Re: BUG? Apply prefab, drag applied prefab to scene = They are different
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2019, 04:56:14 AM »
So the instance decided to target a different GameObject on its own? Sure it's not a misclick? Are all instances having the same issue?

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5945
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: BUG? Apply prefab, drag applied prefab to scene = They are different
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2019, 05:48:48 PM »
Hi.
When i made the gamejam game, i noticed some issues as well when changing variables in the prefab.
Try saving and restarting unity after saving.

This was with unity 2019.2 and playmaker beta tho.