playMaker

Author Topic: 2.5D sprite defaulting to "down idle" position  (Read 1993 times)

Levijohnson3

• Playmaker Newbie
2.5D sprite defaulting to "down idle" position
« on: January 26, 2020, 12:29:00 PM »
Hey all,

I'm new to Playmaker. But in the past few weeks I've been learning a little bit here and there. But something that's come to my attention is that Hutong/Playmakers tutorials are ANCIENT and very limited. The website's forum and sign up process is a good example... but regardless, I found this place eventually. I've been following along with this guys tutorial on youtube on creating a Player character's movement using sprite sheets and blend trees and translating them into a 3rd person system like in "Paper Mario". So far I've been fine, converting his coding sections into playmaker sfm hasn't been too hard. But eventually in the video he talks about this: ...In the time stamp, the player character always seems to go back to the "idle down" sprite when there's no input... I can't for the life of me figure out how to get the blend tree sprites to stay as the last direction pressed in terms of playmaker sfm. Any help would be appreciated!

I've attached the 2 states i have that have got me this far.

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
Re: 2.5D sprite defaulting to "down idle" position
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2020, 01:09:23 PM »
Hi.
I had a quick look on the video and i believe that ist all handled in the animator.

If so you can just use a fsm with a single state and set this :

for speed you can use 2D or 3D, depending your needs

oh btw the timestamp does not seem to work.
For others that want to have a look the timestamp is on 19:02

Thore

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2020, 01:53:28 PM »
Welcome. The general setup is like Djaydino shows. First have the character move about and pass on the speed/input to the animator. That is, you don’t use an idle state at all.