playMaker

Author Topic: User Driven Camera Controls  (Read 926 times)

davebr

• Playmaker Newbie
User Driven Camera Controls
« on: March 15, 2020, 09:27:57 AM »
Hello,
I am a total newbie to Unity and Playmaker. I am putting together an architectural walkthrough application that will have a line of buttons at the top that when each button is clicked, it moves the camera to that particular room in the building. I have been at this for weeks. I've been on the forums and gone through so many tutorials and nothing is working. The closest I can get is two buttons that will switch back and forth between camera positions but as soon as I try to add a third or more buttons it breaks.

So far the best tutorial that has gotten me the farthest has been Hutong Games tutorial User Driven Camera Controls . This one got me to the point where I have all the buttons visible on the screen and can switch back and forth between two but that's as far as I can get.

Like I said, I am a totally newbie and I don't know code so a lot of the forum responses are way over my head. I have come to learn quite a bit about Playmaker over the last month, which is good, but I'm still just not able to figure this out.

I have been messing with this for so long that I am now with my back against the wall with a deadline looming large and my frustration level is through the roof. Any help would be so greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Thore

Re: User Driven Camera Controls
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2020, 10:22:00 AM »
Hi,

The tutorial is practically ancient and probably not the best way to go at this.

There are great many unknowns in there.

A) how many rooms will there be? More rooms, more possible paths. A few paths could be animated, but if you have lots, it gets clunky quickly.