playMaker

Author Topic: How to move an object according to dice  (Read 3433 times)

smz

• Playmaker Newbie
How to move an object according to dice
« on: March 15, 2016, 02:19:06 PM »
Total newbie to Playmaker here and so far I've been playing around with different actions and learning the basics for a few days. I wanted to try something that I first assumed would be quite simple mechanic but turned out to be more complex I imagined (for me at least).

So what I would like to do is have my player object move forward on my game board according to randomly generated value of a dice (like in a typical board game - throw a die - move ammout x).

So far I only have this:
  • Random Int action that stores the int value into DiceValue variable
  • CurrentPosition variable set to 0 int
  • Int Add action that takes the value of my CurrentPosition variable and adds the value from DiceValue variable to it

And my idea was to set an Int value variable to each object the player can move to and then somehow set my players position over the correct object but I just can't figure out how to accomplish this, which lead me to think that my Int approach with this is completely wrong.

So could somebody help me and guide me what would be the preferable way to do something like this, e.g. what actions should one use, different kind of variables like vector3?

All tips are appreciated, thank you!

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: How to move an object according to dice
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2016, 03:15:08 AM »
Hi,

You are on the right track.

what you'll need is an "interface" between your board physical slots and your Players position.

-- for a given index of slot, what is the 3d position
-- for a given player what is the delta movement to move

the complexity here is about the path itself,
--is the board round, square or in various shapes?
--how will your player move along that board? is it a path or series of cubes.