playMaker

Author Topic: GUI scale with screen resolution  (Read 1227 times)

EpicMcDude

• Playmaker Newbie
GUI scale with screen resolution
« on: July 20, 2020, 04:42:41 AM »
Hi all,

So I'm new to Playmaker, been using it for about 4 weeks now and I decided that I wanted to try and make a dialogue system using it.
I kinda managed to do that using the GUI Button and GUI Text Field styles and arrange them on the screen but they obviously don't scale with the resolution as they have no anchors.

I'm also using the Set GUI Skin to set options for font, style, position etc.

I have been googling around a lot and and I think I should be using some sort of rect transform action? And it also seems that the GUI I'm using is outdated?

I tried prototyping with the canvas and make text using Unity's UI since those have the anchor points but it wasn't near as flexible as Playmaker for branching dialogue.

I attached examples of my FSM and the game screen showing how the different resolutions affect the GUI.

Does anyone know how I can anchor these so that they don't overlap and the font stays the same size for each resolution?

If this hurts your head by how noob I am, sorry in advance!

Thanks!

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
Re: GUI scale with screen resolution
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2020, 03:16:17 PM »
Hi.
Can you tell why canvas limits flexibility?

GUI is indeed outdated and one issue with it is resolutions :)

EpicMcDude

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2020, 04:01:21 PM »
Hi.
Can you tell why canvas limits flexibility?

GUI is indeed outdated and one issue with it is resolutions :)

Oh crap... so I basically can't use GUI.