playMaker

Author Topic: 2D Camera Follow  (Read 9404 times)

Stanimation

• Playmaker Newbie
2D Camera Follow
« on: October 28, 2012, 03:26:13 PM »
Hey All! First post for me.(Actually 2nd, i posted same question on ios forum) I'm an extreme newbie. So apologies if this has been addressed. I'm doing a side-scroller 2d type of game. I cant figure out how to have the camera follow the animating object, as the object approches the edge of the field of view. As an example, imagine a stick-man running left or right. As stick-man gets close to the egde of frame, the camera starts to follow. If the stick-man reverses direction, the camera stops and waits until it gets close to the other edge before following again. Seems easy enough! Ha! I have been battling this for days. Currently i just have the camera parented to the object. But as you can imagine, that sucks. Thanks for any and all help on this one.

VectorF22

• Junior Playmaker
Re: 2D Camera Follow
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2012, 12:30:50 PM »
Hi,

If you want a quick and easy possible solution, then don't use playmaker. Import the Unity Standard Assets (Mobile) Package and use the 'Smooth Follow 2D' script that's in there. You just whack that on your camera and choose a game object for it to follow!

I'm trying to work out an effective way of being able to do the same thing using playmaker in this forum topic...
http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=2479.0

kiriri

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2012, 12:33:16 PM »
let's approach this systematically:

1) we need a way to detect whenever the character reaches the edge of the view
and
2) we need to change the cameras x position to fit.

So how could we see if the character reaches the end of the screen? There're a couple of ways, but the easiest in a 2D game would just be a float called "max delta position". We don't need a min for now.