playMaker

Author Topic: Character Moves to finger tap point for iOS ? [SOLVED]  (Read 13263 times)

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Character Moves to finger tap point ?
« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2012, 07:10:48 AM »
Hi,

just to make sure of one thing.

Do you own a unity 3 pro version? if not have you tried Unity 4 and mecanim? I mean this is just pur mind blowing stuff on that front, so maybe it would be wise to start using Unity 4 and mecanim. I am currently studying how playmaker can work with mecanim. For example there is a test scene where you shoot at a bear or another where bears are following you, the amount of code to have this working is really low and totally doable in Unity with few custom actions that I am brainstorming now.

Bye,

Jean

mickman

• Junior Playmaker
« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2012, 02:20:24 PM »
Hi Jean,

yes I have Unity4 Pro iOS.   I upgraded last night.  Mechanim does look pretty darn cool... just need some decent MoCap files to run with it.... but having said that, a couple of weeks back the London Unity Users Group "LUUG" demonstrated Mechanim.  Will Goldstone gave a great rundown of Mechanim. note:Will wrote the Unity3.0 reference book "Unity 3.x Game Dev. Essentials " by Packt.

I'm developing for iPhone & iPad so I hope Mechanim will optimise things a little more.  

Really excited to try out the shadows & Shuriken particle system too... so much to take in with the latest release.

Back to my Dilemma...  I'm really just trying to get a character to navigate to finger tap positions.  I have the character moving about the scene but without walk/run cycles ( he simply floats around in idle ).
 I animated my character in Maya. I have him walking, jumping etc.. but in Unity I have him operating well but only with keyboard controls which is not cool for iPhone / iPad.