playMaker

Author Topic: [Solved]Set Property or Activate Game Object  (Read 2276 times)

stigma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
[Solved]Set Property or Activate Game Object
« on: April 23, 2024, 10:03:27 AM »
Hi,
To disable objects, what is the difference between
- Set Property
- Activate Game Object

THANKS
« Last Edit: April 28, 2024, 12:57:47 PM by stigma »

stigma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: Set Property or Activate Game Object
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2024, 09:22:16 AM »
Replying for the updates.
That doesn't answer my question.

mintyman

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Set Property or Activate Game Object
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2024, 09:21:59 PM »
set property is used on components attached to your game object
(best explained here)
https://hutonggames.fogbugz.com/default.asp?W696

and activate game object is just that, activate and de activate a game object .

hope this helps.

stigma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: Set Property or Activate Game Object
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2024, 02:57:59 AM »
So the two actions do the same thing?

mintyman

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Set Property or Activate Game Object
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2024, 06:41:53 PM »
technically yes. set property can set multiple different properties of an object while activate object will only change if its active. but to answer your question there is no difference in what way you do it, both ways achieve the same thing.

stigma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: Set Property or Activate Game Object
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2024, 12:57:29 PM »
Thank you for that answer

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7623
    • jinxtergames
Re: [Solved]Set Property or Activate Game Object
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2024, 07:16:00 AM »
There is a big difference actually.

Get/Set properties actions are 'mirroring' and should only be used as a last resort.

reasons :
1 its slower that dedicated actions
2 on for example android build you might get issues and you would need to create/add a link script or use Linker wizard
as there is a chance certain scirt components are stripped.
3 dedicated actions are more clear of what they do.

These actions exists so you can still use 3rd party assets/scripts and communicate with them, without making dedicated actions (which is still preferable)